Christopher Leads Wild n’ Wacky Winners


WATERFORD, Conn. – Wild ‘n’ Wacky Wednesday racing was back at Waterford Speedbowl with another entertaining night of motorsports landing five drivers into the winner’’s circle.

Mike Christopher Jr. continued his hot streak in the INEX Legend Cars, Jon Porter took home the Super X-Car accolades and Zac Thomas was awarded the win in the X-Cars. Anthony Marvin won for the second time in as many week in the INEX Bandoleros and Dave Gargaro Jr. was tops in the night’s Wacky Race.

Christopher rolled to his second consecutive 25-lap INEX Legend Cars victory on Wild ‘n’ Wacky Wednesday and third overall in the division at the Speedbowl this season. The excitement started on lap one when Scott Limkemann spun in turn one from mid-pack, looping his machine but kept going allowing the race to continue on. T.J. Thompson took command over Dennis Pantani to lead lap one.

Thompson led John O’Sullivan Jr. and Christopher, who was up to third in the opening laps. Christopher slipped by O’Sullivan’s inside on lap five to move to second and went after Thompson. He spent two laps tailing Thompson before he saw daylight to the leader’s inside exiting turn four on lap seven. Christopher spent a lap and a half battling Thompson for the top spot before pulling ahead.

Thompson stuck with Christopher through the second and final caution flag of the race on lap 17. Christopher controlled the restart to get away from Thompson by turn one, cruising to the win. Thompson took home a career best finish with second position and last year’s division champion Joey Ternullo finished third.

The 25-lap X-Car race win went to Thomas after apparent race winner Jordan Hadley failed post-race technical inspection. Hadley jumped to the lead from his pole starting position into the lead on lap one, rolling to the apparent victory in a non-stop race. The winning move from Thomas came racing through traffic, emerging with second position before halfway. Thomas continued to chase Hadley, but finished nearly a half track behind. However, his efforts were good enough to lift him to the win. Randy Johnston ended up as the runner-up and Matthew Westover was credited with third.

Porter emerged with the lead with a strong run following a caution flag on lap 12. Porter restarted the race in third but quickly worked his way past Ray Reed, who had led from lap one. Reed fell back into a battle for second and third position over the second half of the race as Dave Yardley moved into contention. He couldn’’t keep pace with Porter but had a final shot to steal the win with two late race restarts coming with two laps remaining. Porter pulled ahead each time to finish off the win. Yardley finished second and Dan Butler finished third.

Marvin controlled the pace of the 15-lap INEX Bandolero race for the second consecutive week. A red flag just before halfway in the race didn’’t hinder Marvin’s focus. When the race resumed he continued to lead, never missing a beat. He beat Jonathon Puleo and Nickolas Hovey, who made his first ever start in the division.

Gargaro was master of the night’s Wacky Race, which was a Musical Car Race for the X-Cars. Gargaro advanced each round and came out on top of a final battle with Uncasville’s Christopher Lee in the final round.

Previous articleBURNS: Around The Track
Next articleKandy Continues Support Of Angie Smith is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.