Christopher Gets Wacky At Waterford


WATERFORD, Conn. – Waterford Speedbowl returned to the track on Wednesday for another round of Wild ‘n’ Wacky motorsports competition.

Mike Christopher Jr. claimed his fourth Wednesday night INEX Legend Cars victory of the year to lead the way. New winners on the season were Ray Reed, winner of the Super X-Car race, and Ken Morin Jr. in the INEX Bandoleros. Jordan Hadley took another X-Car checkered flag, and Chris Lee won the night’s Wacky Race.

Christopher landed in INEX Legend Cars victory lane for the second consecutive week and fourth time in five Wild ‘n’ Wednesday events. He trailed early leader Mike Blaskey, the only other winner to date in the division on Wednesdays, and battled on the track with Joey Ternullo in a race to the front.

Christopher got to Blaskey first, getting past his inside halfway through the 25-lap race. Ternullo followed suit and stayed with Christopher through a lap 23 caution flag to set the stage for a final shootout between the two. Christopher controlled the restart and pulled ahead from Ternullo to claim the win. Ternullo, last year’s division champion, finished a strong second and Blaskey stayed with the lead two and finished third.

Morin outdueled Anthony Marvin in an entertaining 15-lap INEX Bandolero race. The two were side-by-side the entire distance in a battle that delighted the fans. Morin, on the outside of the track, was never able to gain a distinct advantage. He was able to drag race Marvin first to the checkered flag exiting the final corner. Marvin settled for second and Jonathon Puleo was third.

Reed was a first time winner on the year in Super X-Cars. He was fast from the start of the race, pulling ahead of his competition once he motored to the lead on lap-11 of the 25-lap feature. He had to get away from Jim Boyle on a final restart with two laps remaining, then hold back a charging Jon Porter, the division point leader, on the final lap. Porter couldn’t muster a bid for the win and finished second while Boyle claimed third.

Hadley won for the second consecutive week in X-Car action. His march to the front was methodical, coming from deep in the field to contend over the second half of the 25-lap race, which was completed without incident or need for a caution flag. Zac Thomas took the lead from Rich Nye on lap seven.

Hadley moved in to the picture, passing by Nye’s inside on lap 18 to move into second. Lapped traffic aided Hadley’s effort, slowing Thomas’s pace out front. Hadley caught Thomas on lap 20 and was to his inside exiting turn two on lap 22. Hadley took over and closed out the win. Thomas was second and Randy Johnston finished third.

Lee was the master of the night’s Wacky Flag Pole race. He bested Chuck McDonald and Matt Westover as they raced the track, circling two obstacles located on each straightaway every lap.

Previous articleRLL Racing Adds Filippi For Doubleheaders
Next articleBURNS: Around The Track is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.