Changes To Vermont State LM Championship


WATERBURY, Vt. – The four-race Vermont State Late Model Championship series, which boasts an $11,000 point fund, will see changes in 2014.

The series, which features four events split between Vermont’s only two paved oval speedways, will now include the Labor Day Classic at  Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl in Barre, Vt., on the schedule instead of the Vermont Governor’s Cup as in years past.

The Vermont State Late Model Championship was created in 2012 and hosts two races each at Devil’s Bowl Speedway in West Haven, Vt., and Thunder Road. Once again the series will kick off with the Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic 100 at Thunder Road on May 25. The quarter-mile portion of the series will conclude with the Labor Day Classic 200 on Aug. 31. The Labor Day event will also be the final Thunder Road Late Model point-counting event for 2014.

The Devil’s Bowl half-mile will host a 100-lap event on May 30 and conclude the series with another 100-lap event during the Vermont 200 weekend on Sept. 14. For the third season, the Vermont State Champion will be crowned following the September event at Devil’s Bowl. Past Vermont State Champions were Dave Pembroke in 2012 and Nick Sweet last season, who each picked up a $2,000 point fund check.