Catalano Returns To Holland Glory


HOLLAND, N.Y. – Former New York State NASCAR Champion Amy Catalano was the winner for the Getzoni Nationwide Insurance Agency NASCAR Pro Modifieds main event on a sensational Saturday evening at the Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex on Eastern Hills Mall and Local Edge Media night Saturday.

Eric Brown picked up his first Bank of Holland NASCAR Chargers victory of the season. Jonathan Reid used a last lap last corner pass to pick up his first career Holland NYPA TQ Midget feature event. Jeremy Haudricourt picked up the victory for the visiting INEX Legends. Josh Hill was declared the winner of the 4 Cylinder Hornets. Jason Adams picked up his second straight M&M U Pull-It Figure 8 car main. Kathie Ricketson picked up her first career Future 4’s victory.

Tommy Catalano and Shawn Nye were on the front row for the start of the 35 lap Getzoni Nationwide Insurance Agency NASCAR Pro Modifieds feature event and it was Catalano showing the way early. The caution would come out on lap one when several cars including Jeff Brown, Kirk Totten, Amy Catalano, Matt Druar and Bobby Martin came together in turn one.

Druar and Brown needed tow trucks to get back to the pit area. On the restart it was Tommy Catalano and Neal Dietz Jr. showing the way around the tight Holland highbanks and it was Catalano showing the way with Dietz, Camden Barber, Nye and Mike Fiebelkorn Jr. in the top five. Fiebelkorn and Nye went side by side for fourth place with TJ Potrzebowski running right behind him. Potrzebowski was able to clear Nye to take over fifth by lap 10.

Shawn Nye’s great run came to a halt on the top side of turn four on lap 12 to bring out the races second caution of the event. On the restart, Cam Barber’s motor went up in smoke. Tommy Catalano pulled away on the restart with Mike Fiebelkorn Jr., Andy Jankowiak, George Skora III and Neal Dietz in the top five at the races cross flags. Jankowiak went to work on Fiebelkorn and the 2012 Champion got around the 2010 titlist to move into second place with 13 laps remaining. With Tommy Catalano and Jankowiak showing the way, George Skora passed Fiebelkorn to move into third place.

Kirk Totten spun in turn four to bring out the caution for the races third time with 10 laps remaining. The lap 25 restart saw Tommy Catalano not fire and suffered a broken tie-rod. The second go around on the restart saw the last two divisional champions on the front row as Jankowiak (2012) and George Skora III (2013) lead the field back to the green flag and the duo went side by side for a circuit and Skora took over the lead with nine laps remaining.

The caution would come out again as T.J. Potrzebowski spun on the front stretch. The restart saw Jankowiak pull in front of Skora with Fiebelkorn, Joe Evans and Jake Vernon racing in the top five. Jankowiak and Skora came together and Amy Catalano took over the lead as the white flag fell. Catalano would hold off Jake Vernon to pick up her first checkered flag of the season.