Carnes & Northem Headline Holland Events


HOLLAND, N.Y. – Rich Carnes from Cheektowaga, N.Y., and “Crazy T” Thom Northem from Alden, N.Y., headlined the show as he both drivers won their 50 lap special for the Bank of Holland Chargers at the Holland Motorsports Complex.

I-Evolve Technology Services, 97 Rock, Eastern Hills Mall and Whelen Engineering presented the racing program on an absolute gorgeous Saturday evening in the hills of Holland. George Skora III from Eden, N.Y., scored his first career Holland Open-Wheeled victory as he won the Getzoni Nationwide Insurance Agency NASCAR Pro Modifieds while Brandon Glover from Cuba, N.Y., picked up his first win of the season in the McClurg Auto Group Late Model feature.

Dave Wollaber from North Tonawanda, N.Y., was victorious in the NYPAMA TQ Midgets while 2012 Divisional Champion Jeff Szafraniec from Buffalo, NY won the 4 Cylinder NASCAR Hornets feature event. “The Eckness Monster” Jason Eck from Buffalo, N.Y., was victorious in the M&M U Pull-It Figure 8’s.

Zach Myers and Eric Brown led the field of Bank of Holland Chargers to the green flag for their 50 lap Saturday Night Special and it was Myers showing the way over Eric Brown and Opening Night feature winner Rich Carnes. Carnes went to bottom of the speedway to take over second from 2009 and 2011 Hornet Champion Eric Brown. Myers’s night would come to an end on lap seven after he lost power in his TW Signs machine. Carnes would inherit the lead.

Former divisional champion Jerry Kosmowski started dead last on the grid and was up to third spot in just 11 laps. Carnes got loose and spun in turn two and gave the lead to Thom Northem. Northem would pull away and lead the field to the checkered-caution on mystery lap 32 to give the Charger 50 a little twist.

The mystery lap was lap 32 and at the conclusion of that lap, Thom Northem had the lead with Jerry Kosmowski running in second and was followed to the line by Eric Brown, Dave Wilson Jr and Kris Hamann. After the inversion pill was pulled, “the Wild Child” Donnie Aquino and Rich Carnes led the field to the green flag for the final 18 lap segment with Carnes pulling away after driving back through the field after an early race spin. Dave Wilson went side by side with Carnes for the lead with Kosmowski, Northem and Hamann all right there fighting for the race win.

Northem went underneath Kosmowski for third place and took over third with nine laps remaining and cleared Kosmowski with eight laps to go. Carnes got loose once again in turn two and that left the opportunity for Dave Wilson and Northem for the lead with a handful of laps remaining. Carnes was able to hold off all the challenges to score his second win of the young 2013 season. Northem would finish in second and was followed to the line by Dave Wilson, Jerry Kosmowski and Kris Hamann.

“Downtown” Jeffrey Brown and Kirk Totten led the field of Getzoni Nationwide Insurance Agency Pro Modifieds to the green flag for their feature event and it was Brown leading the opening circuit. Kirk Totten was able to use the outside groove to take over the lead on lap two.

Behind the leaders, 2011 NYS NASCAR Champion Amy Catalano was racing side by side for third with Neal Dietz Jr, George Skora III and Tommy “the Rocket” Catalano right there making it a three car battle for third place early on. Skora got underneath Amy Catalano to take third away on lap seven and quickly went to work on Jeff Brown for the runner up spot at the races one-third mark.

Skora cleared Brown for second on lap 11 with Amy Catalano and son Tommy racing in fourth and fifth place respectively. Dean Kroll would hit the turn four Armco Barrier to bring out the races first caution with sixteen laps remaining. On the restart it was Skora using the outside groove to take over the race lead. “Earthquake” Jake Vernon, Opening Night’s feature winner moved up from his eighth starting spot and entered fourth place at the races halfway mark as Vernon and Tommy Catalano passed Jeff Brown.

Previous articlePhelps Flies At Fulton
Next articleLavery Finally Gets Oswego Win is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.