Norris Scores At PA Speedway


IMPERIAL, Pa. — In the Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Super Late Models, Sarver PA’s Michael Norris picked up his third career Late Model win in a great opening night feature.

Brandon Burgoon and Jared Miley brought the field down for the start, with Burgoon grabbing the lead at the outset. Burgoon led the first lap, a caution appeared. On the restart, Alex Ferree grabbed the lead and pulled away, with Norris getting by Burgoon a lap later. Norris set after Ferree, who had a good lead built up already. On lap 12 Norris made his move and got by Ferree. Norris and Ferree ran into heavy traffic, but Norris picked his way thru and cleared the traffic by lap 18. Norris sped to the win over Ferree, Jared Miley, Ron Davies, Burgoon, Keith Barbara, Dennis Lunger, Mike Johnson, Ben Miley and Jimmy Stephans. The two heats saw Ron Davies and Keith Barbara pick up wins in the 17 car field.

The Brougher’s Machine Shop Fastrak Pro Lates saw Chad Ruhlman and Mike Pegher Jr. bring the field down for the start. The first lap Tyler Carson hit the gate in turn three and bought out the red flag. He was OK. On the restart Mike Reft spun and hit the front straight wall and had to be towed off. Ruhlman led the first two laps before Pegher Jr. took over on lap 3. Pegher, from Wexford, PA weathered a few more restarts but each time he was able to put some distance between himself and second running Ruhlman. Pegher picked up his 13th career PPMS crate win and 3rd opening night win in a row. Ruhlman had his best ever PPMS run in either a crate or Late Model finishing second, with Kyle Lukon ending up third. Justin Lamb was fourth followed by defending champ Colton Flinner, Mark Moats Jr., Nico Dabecco, Beau Glemba, Laura Lukon, and Bryant Hank. The heats for the 18 cars on hand were won by Chad Ruhlman and Nico Dabecco.




The Sunoco Race Fuels DIRTcar Late Model Sportsman, defending track champ and 13 time winner last season Jake Simmons, McKees Rocks, PA rolled to the opening night win. Simmons took the lead off early leader Wayne Carbo on lap 11 and led the remaining laps. Carbo was second followed by Nick Kocuba, Dave Slade, Craig Koteles, Curt Bish, Josh Langer, Jason Herniak, and Bill Slade. Jake Simmons picked up the heat win. It was Simmons 47th Career PPMS Sportsman win.

In the Miley BP Car Wash DIRTcar Hobby Stocks, McKees Rocks PA’s Eddie Wiser, second in the points last season, picked up the opening night win. Wiser led all the way to win over Joe Podolinsky, followed by Chase Evans, Zack Stehle, and Todd Busch. Chase Evans won the heat

Picking up the win in the Imperial Heights Garage DIRTcar Young Guns, defending point champ Todd Weldon, Monongahela PA was able to pick up where he left off and grabbed the opening night win. Weldon won by a large margin over last season’s opening night winner Logan Crewl, Adam Carson, Bernie Blair Jr., and Christian Schneider.