Mitten Ends Frustration At Williams Grove


Larry Baer made his move following a lap-eight restart. Baer had the momentum off turn two, pulling even with the leader. Baer, from Dover, nosed his No. 48 into the lead in the tenth circuit. Mease and Jake Jones pressured the leader. Jones took over the runner-up spot on lap 13.

Baer had the advantage over the final seven laps, pulling away from Jones. Larry Baer won his first of the year by eight lengths over Jones. Mease, Scott Richwine, and Tommy Slanker completed the top five.

Grant Adams and Gene Knaub won the qualifying races for the 15 competitors. Tommy Blackwell, making his first start, was the winner of the Artwerks Hard Charger award.

The Newville Construction Services Street Stocks had two 15-lap features. Eric Tripp led the opening lap before relinquishing the lead to Danny Farlling. Farlling was under heavy pressure from Jeff Haag, tenth-place starter Greg Diehl, Bob Gutshall, and Dustin Hollinger. Diehl advanced to second by lap nine. One lap later, he passed Farlling in turn three.

Greg Diehl’s No. 80D survived constant challenges from Bob Gutshall, Dustin Hollinger, Danny Farlling, and Jeff Haag. Diehl, from New Cumberland, won his second of the year five lengths ahead of Gutshall, Farlling, Hollinger, and Haag. There was a post-race inspection of Diehl’s carburetor and the car was legal.

Craig Morgan led the second feature with Jeff Haag, Tim Drawbaugh, Kevin Sigler, and Danny Farlling in pursuit. Bob Gutshall, the seventh-place starter, used a second-lap restart to capture fourth place.

Jeff Haag became the new leader during the fourth lap. Two laps later Gutshall roared into second place. Gutshall, from Harrisburg, made his move following a seventh-lap restart. One lap later his No. 65 Camaro became the new leader. Gutshall won his first of the year by six lengths over Morgan, Haag, Sigler, and Danny Farlling.

The heat wins for the 21-car field went to Chad Smith and Gutshall. Greg Diehl won the Artwerks Hard Charger award in the first feature. Ed Halter won the Artwerks Hard Charger award in the second race.