Ziegler Claims $1,500 Central Mo. Prize


WARRENSBURG, Mo. – Sparks flew during night one of the Tom Wilson Memorial BBQ Bowl at Central Missouri Speedway on Friday.

Midwest Mod Lites made their first appearance of the year with 13 cars, 305 Sprints returned with 6 cars on hand, a total of 35 USRA Modifieds filed in while 40 Street Stocks came through the gates for their $1,500-to-win special event.

Mod Lites were the first to hit the track for their main event after a full night of preliminary action. The last time the Mod Lites were at the track competing was in 2004 and it was a Raffurty who went to victory lane. Ten years later the Raffurty name once again pulled into victory lane. This time it was young Dillon Raffurty who dominated the night for his first CMS win.

The last time 305 Sprints competed at CMS was 2001 when Christi Hoenshell took the win becoming one of the few lady drivers to win at CMS over the years. Loren Klem added her name to the list of lady drivers who have taken a win as she crossed the line first in the 305 Sprint Car main. Matt McGary, Steven Cross, Mike Schouten and Dean Koch rounded out the top five.

In the night one Modified Scramble, Jeff Cutshaw and John Allen led the charge for twenty laps.

In the end, no one had anything for Cutshaw as he claimed the win. The final top 12 in the scramble, which will make up the inside row for Saturday night’s inside row of the $5,000-to-win race are Jeff Cutshaw, Dennis Elliott, Jim Moody, Eric Turner, Zack VanderBeek, Brent Holman, Chad Lyle, Grant Junghans, Tyler Schmidt, Dany Crane, Steven Bowers Jr., and Dalton Kirk.

Former champion Brian Ziggy Ziegler had a rash of bad luck leading up to the night’s main event for the Street Stocks, but that all changed on Friday when he powered his way to the front. Ziegler and Eickleberry ran strong at the front of the field early on with Troy Turley, Bobby Raybourn and Brett Wood inside the top five.

Ziegler pulled away with each restart on the field after some early race cautions with Eickleberry holding strong in second. Allen Perryman and Jeremy McConville were early retirees before lap 10.

Behind Ziegler at the finish were Michael Mullins, John Clancy, Jr., Marc Carter, Chad Eickleberry, and John Coats.