Windom Sprints To Victory At Kokomo Speedway

Windom Sprints To Victory
Chris Windom (19) races Justin Grant on Sunday night at Kokomo Speedway. (Dallas Breeze photo)

KOKOMO, Ind. – Chris Windom held off Brady Bacon on a green-white-checkered finish to win Sunday night’s sprint car undercard during the finale to Indiana Midget Week at Kokomo Speedway.

Wheeling the No. 19 NOS Energy Drink sprinter for Hayward Motorsports, Windom made it a sweep of the night for car owner Brodie Hayward, passing Bacon with four laps left and holding the top spot to the finish. Windom drove around Bacon’s outside exiting the fourth corner and never looked back.

The Canton, Ill., native took the checkered flag in front by a margin of .636 seconds just minutes after his teammate, Tanner Thorson, won the midget headliner in a photo finish over Kyle Larson.

It was his second-straight Indiana Midget Week sprint car win, following a triumph at Lawrenceburg Speedway on Saturday evening.

“Lap traffic was getting crazy there, and I knew I had the best car, I just couldn’t get by (Justin) Grant,” Windom noted in victory lane. “Brady (Bacon) made the bottom work for about 10 laps or so, and I was so pissed off after that midget race that I was not losing another one. Brodie got a win in the sprint car and the midget, so that’s really cool. Hopefully we put on a show for everyone tonight.”

Bacon crossed second over Shane Cottle, with C.J. Leary finishing fourth and Kevin Thomas Jr. in fifth.

After a victory at Gas City I-69 Speedway on Wednesday night, Justin Grant led the first 17 laps from the pole and appeared to be the favorite to take home a Kokomo victory.

However, Grant lost the lead to Bacon with eight to go when he was pinned in traffic on the outside, falling back to third before jumping the right-rear of another car and spinning in turn one.

Grant was unable to return from that incident and was scored 21st in the final rundown.

The final restart was set up after another favorite from the week, Thomas Meseraull, flipped his familiar No. 00 with two laps left. Meseraull was uninjured and credited with a 20th-place finish.

The finish:

1. 19-Chris Windom, 2. 410-Brady Bacon, 3. 74x-Shane Cottle, 4. 30-C.J. Leary, 5. 9k-Kevin Thomas Jr., 6. 36d-Dave Darland, 7. 47-Charles Davis Jr., 8. 18-Jarett Andretti, 9. 33m-Matt Westfall, 10. 5m-Max Adams, 11. 56-Mitchell Davis, 12. 15f-Aaron Farney, 13. 5x-Anton Hernandez, 14. 21-Travis Hery, 15. 4p-Isaac Chapple, 16. 77m-Critter Malone, 17. 77-Dustin Smith, 18. 39-Matt Goodnight, 19. 24-Brian VanMeveren, 20. 00-Thomas Meseraull, 21. 4-Justin Grant.