Wimmer Takes MIS Late Model Victory


MADISON, Wisc. – Chris Wimmer picked up the win in the Triple Crown Super Late Model Challenge 100 lap feature and also became the champion of the Challenge Series on Saturday at Madison Int’l Speedway.

Wimmer finished the three race series with 314 points just ahead of Dave Feiler who was second with 308 points and defending champion Casey Johnson with 265.

Tim Schendel and Skylar Holzhausen led the 24-car field to the green flag with Holzhausen taking the early lead. Wimmer was up to second after the first lap while Bobby Wilberg moved into third place on lap three.

On lap 5 Wilberg was able to work his way past both Wimmer and Holzhausen to take the lead. Looking very strong, Wilberg built up a multi-car length advantage over Wimmer who was able to take second from Holzhausen.

The first caution of the race came out on lap 23 for a spin setting up the first double file restart of the race. Wimmer was able to wrestle the lead away from Wilberg on the restart only to lose it back one lap later. At this point Feiler was up to third as both Wilberg and Wimmer started to pull away from the field.

Wilberg maintained his lead over Wimmer, but by the half-way point the lead was dwindling and on lap 55 Wimmer took over the top spot passing Wilberg coming out of turn four. Wimmer continued to lead until the competition yellow at lap 75. Wilberg, Feiler, Nick Murgic, and Jeremy Miller rounded out the top five as the crews came out on the front stretch to work on the cars for ten minutes. At this point fourteen cars were on the lead lap.

Wimmer elected to start on the outside for the restart and it paid off for him as he was able to maintain the lead over Wilberg. On lap 77 Murgic moved past Wilberg into second place, but five laps later Wilberg took his position back but still with a lot of ground to close on Wimmer.

Meanwhile, Feiler, who led the point standings coming into the night had dropped to fifth place and a late race pass by Travis Sauter put him in sixth place.

But Wimmer was a man on a mission as nobody would be able to catch him tonight as he picked up the checkered flag. Wilberg finished in second followed by Murgic, Holzhausen, Sauter, and Feiler.

“This car was incredible,” said Wimmer. “Everything worked out for us.”

The finish:

Chris Wimmer, Bobby Wilberg, Nick Murgic, Skylar Holzhausen, Travis Sauter, Dave Feiler, Casey Johnson,  Bobby Kendal, Jeremy Miller, Russ Blakely, Brian Johnson Jr,  Colin Reffner, John Baumeister, Dale Nottestad, Austin Luedtke, Kyle Shear, Jeff Storm, Ross Zumbach, Chuck Garetson,  Tim Schendel, Steve Rubeck, Michael Bilderback, Landry Potter, Gary Lamonte