VanderBeek Pockets $5,000 In Missouri


WARRENSBURG, Mo. – Zack VanderBeek had the winning hand Saturday at Central Missouri Speedway as he pocketed $5,000 for winning the Tom Wilson BBQ Bowl Memorial for USRA modifieds.

The weather became a factor late in the evening as a quick rain shower started to wet the track down with the 24 starters on the grid for the final 50 lap special event.

As the rain subsided, the Tom Wilson Memorial feature started with Jeff Cutshaw and Matt Dotson trying to gain the early advantage along with John Allen and Darron Fuqua. Dotson started to use to use the side while Cutshaw and Allen swapped second and third until the yellow flew for Aaron Marrant on the front stretch on lap seven.

By lap 10 Dotson had moved up front with Fuqua, Allen, Cutshaw and Robbie Reed in the top five. The second and final yellow caution flag flew after Jason Bodenhamer spun in turn four while running sixth. Danny Crane and Tim Karrick avoided contact along with the rest of the field and were able to continue. After the restart, the field settled in to a flow of two and three-wide racing all around the track.

Some drivers chose the bottom line earlier on; however, Jim Moody started working the high side and moved into the top three by lap 20. Meanwhile, Dotson maintained his lead, but Vanderbeek started his forward push in lapped traffic and worked his way up to second on lap 41 as he moved past Fuqua, who was just behind Dotson at the time. By lap 45, Vanderbeek moved past Dotson in turn four and hung on to his lead for the remaining five laps as Dotson held strong in second.

As the double checkers flew for the $5,000 payday, VanderBeek celebrated his win behind the wheel of his familiar Casey’s General Store No. 33z machine. Close behind was Dotson in second, followed by Fuqua in third, Reed in fourth and Moody fifth.

Other feature winners Saturday included Gary Donaldson (Grand Nationals), Darrin Christy (Pure Stocks) and Logan Martin (B Modifieds).