Ty Majeski Rules Dells Icebreaker 100

Ty Majeski
Ty Majeski won the Icebreaker 100 Sunday afternoon at Dells Raceway Park. (Kevin Ramsell Photo)

WISCONSIN DELLS, Wis. – After starting his season with some huge super late model victories down south, Ty Majeski came back to the Midwest to capture the third annual Icebreaker 100 at Dells Raceway Park.

A full house was treated to another showdown between Majeski, who is slated to make his NASCAR XFINITY Series debut later this year, and Andrew Morrissey in the middle stages of the event.  The last time the two raced together was at the same track last fall where the two battled for the lead on the last lap, when they made contact going into turn one causing both to spin and allowing Casey Johnson to grab the victory.

The fans started to wonder if they would see a repeat as the two battled just past the halfway point for the top spot.  The two would start side-by-side on a restart on lap 54 after Gregg Pawelski’s spin.  Morrissey would get the lead with Majeski tucking himself into the second spot.

Two laps later, Majeski took a little high line going into turn one then made a sharp cut to the inside of Morrissey coming off turn two to make the pass and drive off to the victory.

Morrissey, who after the race said he lost his power steering, tried to fend off a late charge by Michael Bilderback but Bilderback would be able to use the outside line and get by Morrissey with 13 laps to go and finish second.

Natalie Decker would finish fourth with Eddie Hoffman rounding out the top five.

“This track, historically, hasn’t been the best for us and to come out here and showcase what we have been working on during the off season is special,” Majeski said after the race.  “These guys have been working a lot and I haven’t been at the shop that much.  My hats off to them for working their butts off.”

Bilderback, who was the fast qualifier, took the outside front row spot on the final restart with 15 laps to go, and then get by Morrissey, was pleased with his runner up finish.

“On the last restart, I was talking to my spotter and he asked me if I want to be conservative and I said no I am not here to finish third, I want to win this thing or get the best finish possible,” Bilderback explained.  “When Morrissey took the bottom, I had no option but to take the top.  I felt we were a little better than him (Morrissey) and I figured if we get in front of him we can stay there.”

Morrissey was smiling on the podium after battling the last half of the race with no power steering.

“About 10 laps after I got the lead, the power steering started to cut out,” Morrissey said.  “Then about ten laps after that, I lost it completely.  I don’t feel like we had anything for Majeski and was hoping to finish second.  I am worn out and out of breath from just hanging on there.”

Jeff Storm won the super late model qualifying race with Bobby Kendall in second and Eddie Hoffman in third.

Derek Kraus won the odd dash with Decker in second and Morrissey in third.  Terry Schoppenhorst won the even dash over Casey Johnson and Jon Reynolds Jr.

Scott Luck finished second in the Great Northern Sportsmen Series 40-lap feature to Brent Kane.  But, Kane’s car failed post-race inspection thus handing the trophy over to Luck in their season opening event.  Jason Stark was second with Dave Trute in third.

Scott Luck won the GNSS odd dash for cash and Mahlon Borntreger won the even dash.  Karl Genett won the first GNSS heat race and Jamie Dummer won the second heat race.

Tom Berens took home the victory in the Midwest Dash Series. Berens pulled away from the field with a restart with two laps to go in their 25-lap feature event.  George Sparkman finished second with James Junget in third.

The Midwest Dash Series also had two Dash for Cash races with George Sparkman winning the first dash and Tom Berens held off Nick Schmidt to win the second dash.  Brandon DeLacy won the heat race.