Trent, Poore Conquer Anderson Races


ANDERSON, Ind. – Danny Trent won his third consecutive Late Model feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday by working his way from the seventh starting position to the front.

Trent took over the lead when leader Jeff Marcum and second place running Billy VanMeter spun on the front straight on a restart.

Mark Lambert finished third, followed by VanMeter and Marcum, who passed Joe Woodring on the final lap.

Josh Poore continued his dominance in the Street Stock division by visiting the winner’s circle for the third time this season.

In all three appearances of the division, Poore has set the fastest lap time and then gone on to win the feature event.

Poore was chased in the early stages of the 40-lap feature by defending track champion Dustin Burge, but started to open the gap at the mid-point.

Following Poore and Burge to the checkered flag were James Kirby, Andrew Cook and Joe Pulley.

Robbie Wyman became the fourth different feature winner in NASH-FM Thunder Car action when early leader Curtis Chapman got blocked by lapped traffic.

Chapman took the lead at the start with Wyman glued to his rear bumper for the first 20 laps. Entering turn three on lap 21 Chapman decided to take the low line and got trapped behind a slower car which allowed Wyman to take the lead.

Chapman kept the pressure on Wyman but was unable to make the pass. Jeff Marcum finished third followed by Trent Gossar and Lonny Burton.

Dylan Hoppes recorded his first ever Front Wheel Drive Oval feature when Jeff Williams car failed technical inspection.

Williams took advantage of lapped traffic to pass Ryan Claborn to win his first Front Wheel Drive Oval Division feature of the year.

Previous articleParent Brings Home ACT Victory
Next articleCUP: Sprint All-Star Race is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.