Toledo Win Goes To Litt


TOLEDO, Ohio – Ryan Litt had a successful return to the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints by winning the third event of the season at Toledo (Ojio) Speedway on Friday.

Litt passed Jason Blonde on the 13th circuit and then led the remainder of the 30-lap event. Blonde was second in the final rundown with Davey Hamilton Jr. placing in third spot. Fourth was Troy DeCaire, who was penalized two positions after jumping a restart. Fifth place went to Travis Miniea.

“It feels great to be back and I’ve wanted to win at Toledo for a while. We have always been fast, but just never seemed to have the luck. It was a pretty good day all around, besides the issue in the heat race. It was my mom’s birthday, so it’s a good birthday gift for her,” said Litt.

“I had a steering problem in the heat race, so in the first half of the race I was taking it easy. I just tried to stay with the top two and make my way around them. Jason (Blonde) slid up and I was able to get a good run.”

At the drop of the green flag, Blonde got the jump on Jimmy McCune to the lead with Kyle Edwards running in the third position.

After just three circuits, Davey Hamilton dropped out of the event with mechanical issues.

At the sixth lap mark, Litt passed Edwards for third position and one lap later Edwards spun in turn 2 and caught the turn 2 inside wall.

When racing action resumed, Blonde led McCune, Litt, Hamilton Jr. and DeCaire. The yellow re-appeared on lap 12 as McCune’s hope for a second consecutive series victory ended with heavy smoke coming from his No. 88.

That advanced Litt to the second spot and on the 13th lap exiting turn 4, Litt dove low and was able to take the lead with Blonde setting in second spot. Once out front, Litt constructed a lead of 2.066 seconds.

With about 10 laps remaining, DeCaire passed Blonde for the runner-up position. The final yellow appeared on the 22nd go-around when Teddy Alberts stopped in turn 2 with engine issues.

Litt dominated the event to score his 11th career victory. In the revised finish, five-time series champion Jason Blonde placed second, earning his second runner-up finish in the opening three races. The remainder of the top five included Davey Hamilton Jr., Troy DeCaire and first-time starter in 2014 Travis Miniea.

Previous articleFinchum Outduels VanDyke At Kingsport
Next articleVanAlst Speeds To Victory At Anderson is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.