Toland Finally Stops Kay At Davenport


DAVENPORT, Iowa – It took almost two months, but someone finally beat Justin Kay at the Davenport Speedway.

Rob Toland took the lead of the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model on lap six and would not give it up. Toland survived a lap seventeen restart and used the bottom of the racetrack to reach victory lane.

Kay would finish in the runner-up spot, his worst finish at Davenport since June 14th. Joe Ross used the high side to take third, followed by Chuck Hanna and Spencer Diercks.

Mitch Morris collected his fourth EMS IMCA Modifed feature win of the season. Morris started seventh, and would not see the lead until lap thirteen of the twenty lap main. Morris used the low line to take the lead and then cruised to the win.

Bob Dominacki finished second, with Joe Beal third. Doug Crampton and Brian Bushong were fourth and fifth respectively.

Jeremy Gustaf captured the feature win in a rough and tumble Koehler Electric Street Stock main. Nick Claussen held the early lead of the race and through several cautions. Unfortunately, Claussen brought out the race’s final yellow flag, when he turned sideways in front of the field after a restart. Gustaf managed to avoid the wreck and would lead the remaining laps for the win. This was his first point win of the season.

Perry Gellerstedt finished second, with Donnie Louck coming from deep in the field to take third. Keith Jackson recovered from an early miscue to finish fourth and Gerald Ward completed the top five.

In Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod action, Ricky Kay won his third feature of the season. Kay swiped the lead from Joe Grant on lap four of the feature and held on for the win. Doug Burkhead finished in the runner-up spot. Ben Chapman started dead last and would finish third. Grant and Kevin Schroeder rounded out the top five.

Aaron Hitt ended his victory lane drought in the Roto-Rooter 4-Stocks. Hitt took the lead on lap three and never looked back. The win was Aaron’s fifth of the season. Andrew Fitzgerald raced to a solid second place finish. Andy Loy took third, ahead of Luke Benischek and Zach Dahl.

Previous articleVaughn Achieves Deming Dream
Next articleSwiernik Sprints At Brewerton is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.