Six Winners At Red Cedar Speedway


MENOMONIE, Wis. – The Red Cedar Speedway presented Hornet Bonus Night as the RCS Hornets were joined by the WISSOTA Modifieds, Super Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Street Stocks, and Pure Stocks.

Winners on the evening were Mike Anderson, Aaron Wilson, Nick Koehler, Danny Richards, Pat Smith, and Sean Svee as the 2019 points champions were crowned.

Matt Leer and Mike Anderson won the WISSOTA Modified heats and Anderson backed the win up with a sweep of the night come feature time. There were two caution flags in the first four laps which kept the mods from getting into a groove early, but once they survived a midway point yellow, they blasted their way to the checkered flag.

Anderson led every circuit and at one point, Mark Hanson used the same high line to overtake the second position, and keep pace with the leader.

Hanson jumped the cushion in turn four on lap 10 and lost positions and Anderson pulled away from the field thereafter to his 11th feature win.

Jake Hartung raced to second on the field to make it a top two SSR Race Cars finish. Ashley Anderson, Mark Hanson, and Grant Southworth rounded out the top five.

Anderson won three times at Red Cedar chasing the points championship as Ashley Anderson finished a close second with two wins himself.

Wayne Dean led the WISSOTA Super Stocks for three laps as they raced four wide behind him. On lap four, he jumped the cushion and Aaron Wilson slipped by into the lead.

One lap later, Curt Myers moved to second and set chase for the win. Wilson moved away from the field until lap eight when Myers began to reel him back in.

Eleventh-starting Tony Falkner had moved to fourth and showed his nose to Adam Soltis for third, but Soltis fought back and maintained the position.

Jesse Redetzke began to pick off cars as he moved methodically to the third position.  Wilson’s lead varied from two to four car lengths as he led the remainder of the race for his first win since his return to racing in 2019.

It was Myers in second, followed by Redetzke in third. Adam Soltis finished fourth as Chad Gullixson made a last lap pass to overtake Falkner for fifth.

It was Redetzke crowned as points champion with two wins on the season as runner up Myers scored at feature time on eight occasions on the season. Myers and Gullixson won their heats.

The Midwest Modifieds had a tough time getting going as they had two cautions before a lap was scored. The second of which collected multiple strong cars, sent Jay Richardson and Jesse Bryan pit side, and saw Tony Bahr called with the foul and sent to the rear.

Once they scored a lap, it was Travis Anderson out front for three circuits but another yellow for a single car spin slowed the pace.

The restart saw Nick Koehler move low through turn two and take the lead. Thereafter, he moved to the high side and drove into the night to an over a straight stretch advantage and the win.

Shane Halopka had followed Koehler through into second when the lead switched hands, but couldn’t mount a charge to challenge for the point  Anderson cut down a left front tire and maintained racing but was not at the same pace.

It was Calvin Iverson, Shadow Kitchner, and Josh Smith in the top five as Bahr raced from he tail of the field to finish sixth.

Halopka was the points champion with five wins and ten top five finishes in eleven events.  Bryan, Iverson, and Halopka won heats on the night.

Continued on the next page…