Six Classes Tackle Eagle Valley


JIM FALLS, Wis. – Southworth Chevrolet sponsored the races at Eagle Valley Speedway Sunday as all six classes were in action.

Steve Hallquist and Mike Anderson led the modified feature to the green with Friday night’s feature winner, Anderson securing the top spot and leading several laps. A spinning Wayne Poteet brought out the caution and reset the field with Anderson in first and Kevin Adams and Jesse Glenz in the second row.

Upon the restart, Adams powered into the lead, bringing Glenz along for second. A few laps later, Anderson rolled to a stop with a severely blown tire, ending his night. Adams went on to win with Glenz, Matt Leer, Curt Myers and Hallquist filling out the top five.

A pair of 24’s filled the front row of the Super Stock feature as the Hazelton brothers set to duke it out on the start. Darrel Hazelton won the battle and led several laps as Curt hung out in the top five. A caution flew, sending Don Muzzy to the work area and lining up Tommy Richards and Curt Myers on Hazelton’s tail.

On the restart, Myers drove to the lead with Richards following him through. Myers extended his lead, going on to win another of several feature wins on the year. Richards finished second, followed by Darrel Hazelton. Shane Kisling bested Marcus Simonson after a terrific battle for fourth.

Dylan Goettl and Kent Baxter held the front row in the Midwest Modified feature with Baxter looking strong out front on the start. Corey Crapser charged from his seventh starting position and was able to real in Baxter, taking the lead on the low side. Crapser stretched his lead through lapped traffic when the field was reset due to a caution. Crapser had the field covered on the restart and drove home for the victory. Baxter finished second, followed by Travis Anderson, Michael Truscott, and fifth place Nick Koehler.

Mike Knudtson and Sam Fankhauser showed the way to the green in the Street Stock feature with Knudtson taking the lead and setting the pace until the halfway point, when Danny Richards methodically worked his way into the lead. Richards went on to win, followed by Knudtson, Adam Soltis, Fankhauser, and Jake Hanson finishing fifth.

The Pure Stock feature had Jay Barnier Jr. and Talon Laabs in the front row with Laabs taking the point and leading multiple laps as Todd Roshell hounded him for the position. Roshell eventually made the pass on the inside but Laabs refused to give up. With two laps to go, Laabs pulled even but Roshell recovered and regained the point. Lapped traffic may have come into play on the last lap as the top four bunched up tightly behind it at the finish line. Roshell was followed by Laabs, George Richards, Mike Knopps, and Barnier Jr. completed the top five.

The Hornet feature came to the green led by Chad Manor and Jay Welk with Welk grabbing the early lead. Soon, fourth starting Buddy Hanestad found his way to the front and never looked back, winning his eighth feature of the season. Scott Westaby, Jay Welk, Chad Manor, and Heather Rudy rounded out the top five.

Previous articleIsle Of Man Awards Handed Out
Next articleMarks Joins TSM For Two NNS Road Races is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.