Schultz Stops Moody’s Missouri Run


WARRENSBURG, Mo. – Despite a few stray showers lingering in the local area, fans and drivers returned to Central Missouri Speedway to watch exciting racing action for the weekly championship points feature events on Saturday evening.

The Pure Stock class is a new division for CMS this season to compete for the checkered flag. A few new drivers came to race this week to add some additional challenges for the regular weekly drivers. Jason Ryun grabbed his first heat win followed by Darrin Christy and Derek Lampe.

This appeared to be another feature win for Christy after he lead the entire race after passing Jason Ryun for the lead during the initial laps of the feature. Christy then dominated with a good battle ensuing for second and third with three-time winner Bobby Raybourn and Gary Akers battling it out. On the final turn of the race Christy spun out in turn four, which gave Gary Akers his first win of the year. Raybourn was a close second, Ryun third, Leroy Morrison fourth and Christy ended up fifth.

Another strong field of 19 B-modified drivers checked in for the night’s action on Saturday. Eddie Bray Jr., Jeff Douty and Dean Wille snatched the three heat wins.

The feature was another wildly competitive event with drivers attempting to place a new winner into victory lane. However, two-time winner Dean Wille also tried to add to his feature win list. Douty was the early leader and looked to be the car to beat. Meanwhile Bray had his hands full with Jacob Ebert, Wille and Chad Stauss in the top five. Late in the race Wille stayed patient and finally moved down low past Douty into the lead for good. Wille stayed on a roll and captured his third feature win of the year with Douty close behind in second, Ebert looked strong in third, Stauss fourth and Bray in fifth.

The Midwest Lightning Sprints were fast on the clay oval this weekend with their first appearance at CMS this season. C.A.R.B. Hall of Fame driver Bobby Layne and Ken Billings crossed the line to capture the heat victories.

In the feature event Billings quickly shot out into the early lead and never looked back. Mike Trent made it interesting on the final laps when traffic came into play, but Billings hung on for his second win in a row. Trent finished second with Layne third, Ryan Kent moved up to fourth with Zach Morehead in fifth.

The Street Stock class had a field of several drivers capable of netting a feature win with 15 cars in the pits. Brian Ferguson and Clayton Campbell claimed the two heat race wins.

Previous articleNosbisch Pulls Away At East Bay
Next articleEdwards Smokes Langley Foes is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.