Schultz Gets The Glory At CMS


WARRENSBURG, Mo. – With last week’s Modified feature event still weighing heavily on the minds of many Central Missouri Speedway drivers this week, Terry Schultz led early Saturday night with Jim Moody and Brian Johnson filing in just behind the leader.

A lap-two caution flag waived over the field for Dean Wille, who came to a halt on the front stretch but was able to continue on in the event.

The spectacular racing continued through lap ten as Schultz remained out front over Moody in second and Tim Karrick third. Karrick’s night nearly came to an end as he went over the turn embankment, ultimately re-starting at the tail of the field.

By lap 20, Moody regained the lead from Schultz as the pair continued to thrill the fans with yet another race set to come down to the wire. I late-race caution flew on lap twenty as the man on the move was former champion Aaron Marrant who by now made his way to third. Dalton Krik also ran solidly inside the top four all race long.

To close out the event, the field was stopped twice more by single-car spins and each time Schultz was able to hold his line and eventually crossed the line first over Moody, Marrant, Kirk, Karrick, who rebounded to claim fifth, and Brian Johnson inside the top six.

In victory lane, Shultz said, “We’ve had a lot of bad luck the last few weeks. I’m just glad things seem to be working right.”

It was Schultz’s third CMS win this year and 54th of his career at CMS and first USRA-sanctioned win since last winning at CMS on May 31. Schultz now has seven USRA wins on the year at five separate tracks.

The finish:

Terry Schultz; Jim Moody; Aaron Marrant; Dalton Kirk; Tim Karrick; Brian Johnson; Eddie Bray Jr.; Dean Wille; Danny Scrogham; Gunner Martin;  Nick Pence; James Dean; Steve Twenter;Brandon Hill; Dean Bachner; Scotty Martin

Previous articleSparks Fly At Plymouth
Next articleHoward Hustles At Grandview is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.