Rain Fails To Stop Eagle Valley Action


JIM FALLS, Wis. – Mother Nature tried once again to foil the plans of the Eagle Valley Speedway as a heavy storm edged the track just prior to hot laps.

The track crew worked hard and got the racing surface in fine form in short order. First on the card were the make-up features from June 22 followed by Coca Cola Enterprises sponsoring all six classes. In total, there were ten features run with ten separate winners.

The make-up Modified feature began with Steve Hallquist and Mike Anderson on the front row. Hallquist took the initial lead with Anderson challenging hard for the point. Within a few laps, Hallquist secured the position as Anderson chased, followed by Kevin Adams. The race ran without a caution as Hallquist won his first feature of the year, besting his second place finish on Thursday night in Rice Lake. Anderson and Adams finished a strong second and third as Curt Myers and Cody Cimfl filled out the top five.

The regular night Modified feature once again had Mike Anderson and Steve Hallquist on the front row. This time, Anderson took the point immediately and never looked back as the Modifieds ran their second twenty lap feature without a caution. As Anderson cruised to the win in the lower groove, Hallquist followed home in second. Jake Hartung mounted challenges for the second spot on the high side of the track, but settled for third at the end. Kevin Adams and Luke Schilling closed out the top five.

The make-up Super Stock feature came to the green led by Matt McEathron and Eric Olson as Olson secured the top spot. A caution reset the field as Mark Stender had mechanical issues and upon the restart, Olson again led the way. Willie Johnsen, fresh off his Rice Lake Speedway feature win began to challenge hard for the lead as eighth starting Curt Myers closed in to join in the battle. Myers found the lead near the halfway point and drove away from the field to the checkered flag. Johnsen secured second, and was followed to the line by Olson, Tommy Richards, and Tony Falkner.

The regular night Super Stock feature was paced by Jeff Brauer and Matt McEathron as Brauer found the lead and was chased by Shane Kisling and Willie Johnsen. A pair of quick cautions reset the field and developed a terrific battle for the lead between Brauer and Kisling. Kisling eventually grabbed the top spot on the low side of the track and Tommy Richards found his way through into second and Johnsen ran in third. On the last lap, Richards made a strong move on the bottom to temporarily snatch the lead, but Kisling’s high side momentum carried him off turn four to a close win at the line. Johnsen, Curt Myers, and Brauer finished in a strong top five.