Prunty Secures Slinger Track Championship


SLINGER, Wis. – Chris Blawat captured his first super late model feature victory Sunday afternoon at Slinger Super Speedway in the 80-lap season championship main event while Dennis Prunty edged Steve Apel to win the track championship by a mere ten points.

“This is our first full year in the super late models and we finally got a win, it’s awesome,” Blawat stated from victory lane. “I tried to run as clean as possible and I had a really good run on the outside on that last restart. It’s really special to win it like that, passing a potential track champion for the win makes it real special.”

Prunty and Apel entered the double-point day tied atop the super late model point standings and Apel gained a 20 point advantage early on by setting fast time with a lap of 11.411 seconds while Prunty failed to gain any points after qualifying eleventh.

Prunty cut the deficit in half by leading 57 laps of the 80-lap feature to capture the ten point bonus for pacing the most laps before eventually finishing second while Apel charged through the field from his eleventh starting position to finish third, one position behind Prunty.

A 20 point difference between the second and third positions in the feature left Prunty with his first Slinger super late model track championship by ten points over Apel.

Ryan DeStefano took top honors in the 35-lap late model feature while Alex Prunty captured his first late model track championship.

James Swan and Ryan Farrell have battled for supremacy in the Midwest Sportsman division all season long so it was only fitting that the two would race for the win and the track championship in the final feature of the season with Swan edging Farrell for the win and the track championship.

Jack Stern was the winner of the Midwest Sportsman fast dash and Ryan Farrell was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 12.804 seconds.

Ken Schraufnagel edged Brad Hetzel in a close finish to win the 20-lap Thunderstock feature after a lap 17 caution flag for multiple spins around the speedway set up a three lap dash to the checkered flag. While Hetzel had to settle for the close finish in the feature, the result helped him capture the track championship for the division.

Steve Dickson won the 20-lap Slinger Bee feature over Brandon Tackes and Jacob Schraufnagel. Ryan Savage and Dave Lembke took the checkered flag in fourth and fifth place respectively. Nick Schmidt captured the track championship in the division.

Joe Mueller scored the victory in the Figure 8 race to close the afternoon and the 2012 season while Willie Van Camp claimed the track championship in the Figure 8 division.