Poore Tops Anderson Winner’s List


ANDERSON, Ind. – Josh Poore took advantage of a restart to pass early leader Dustin Burge to capture the street stock feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Poore visited the Tim Thompson Nationwide Insurance Winner’s Circle for the first time this season as the street stock division made its first appearance of 2014.

Burge grabbed the point on the opening lap from the third starting position when pole sitter Fred Hopkins slipped high on the back straight which forced James Kirby to check-up. Burge dove to the inside to take the lead.

The only caution flag waved on lap seven when Hopkins spun coming off the second corner.

After the restart Poore pulled away to a comfortable lead over Burge for the win followed by Kirby, Andrew Cook and Jason Shipp.

“Car got faster on the long run,” said Poore. “Dustin (Burge) and James (Kirby) both raced me hard.”

Jerry Dane made it a clean sweep in the Front Wheel Drive Oval Division by setting fast time, capturing a win in a heat race and then driving to his second consecutive feature victory.

Dane started fourth in the feature but was able to pass Adam Lee for the point on the second lap with an inside pass entering turn one. Lee was able to hang close to Dane’s rear bumper until lap 11 when he suddenly slowed.

Marshall Clark suffered a flat tire will running third after four laps. Dylan Hoppes worked his way from the 10th starting position to move into the second space with a pass of Brandon Lee Cook with five laps remaining to finish second.

Cook finished third followed by Ryan Claborn and Jared Keller.

Nick Warner made it two consecutive wins in Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 action but not without some excitement in the crossover.

Warner took the lead on the second lap with a pass of Randy Hoppes chased by defending track champion Kevin Henson. The two leaders were forced to brake on lap nine entering the cross-over to miss the car of Kamden Creek.

Randy Owen claimed the third place at the finish line from Jeff Williams with Hoppes rounding out the top five.

Chris Weddel took advantage of starting on the pole position to hold off fast qualifier James Edsel at the start of the Thunder Roadster feature and went on to secure the victory.

Weddel held off Edsel on the only restart of the race on lap nine following a spin in turn two by Marty Griffin, who was battling for third at the time.

Following Weddel and Edsel to the checkered flag were John Robbins, Doug Dugger and Griffin.

Previous articleCorellis Tops Lebanon Valley Opener
Next articleVIDEO: Conway Talks Standing Starts
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.