Points Leaders Shine At Plymouth


PLYMOUTH, Ind. – It was a hot night of racing at Plymouth Speedway Saturday night with the points leaders doing what they do best – win.

Polesitter Michael Clark dominated the Super Streets feature at Plymouth, but not before several cautions started the feature. Clark was able to keep out front with every restart. Bob McLean kept up with him for most of the race, but got into the wall on lap 11 and couldn’t turn his car. He would end up in fourth place. Kory Conner started in the eighth position and moved all the way up to the second position even after getting tangled up with Bobby Keller with just five laps to go. Nathen Jordan would pick up the third and final podium spot. His engine gave up on the last lap.

“The championship is looking really good,” said Clark. “I would have rather battled McLean (second in the points) on the track for points than a DNF, but it was a good race.”

The UMP Modified National points battle was on in the Swan Lake Resorts UMP Modified race with Jacob Poel entering the race second in the standings and Jamie Lomax in third. When the green flag flew, the second half of the field bunched up on start with Poel collected in the accordion-effect. Donald Vance’s car ended up on top of Poel’s car and Poel’s night was over. Thankfully, no one was injured.

Bobby Stremme took the early lead but Jamie Lomax, who started eighth, started passing cars early in the feature. By lap six Lomax was on the rear bumper of leader Stremme, who started on the outside pole. Stremme and Lomax were side by side for two laps before Lomax took over the lead on lap eight. Zeke McKenzie had a strong car and was picking off spots until he was battling Stremme for the second position on lap 13. In the end Swan Lake UMP Modified points leader Lomax would take the win, McKenzie would finish second and Stremme came in third for a hard-fought battle.

Previous articleWOO: Ironman 55
Next articleRain Stops Action Early At East Bay
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.