Points Champions Crowned At Limaland


LIMA, Ohio – Limaland Motorsports Park wrapped up the 2019 points season on Friday night with the 22nd annual Points Championship presented by Alexander and Bebout.

Lima’s Tony Anderson prevailed as the Bud Thunderstock Track Champion for the 12th time, while Todd Sherman from Churubusco, Ind., was crowned track champion in the Northwest Physical Therapy UMP Modifieds for the seventh time.

Kicking the night off were the Thunderstocks in their 15 lap A-main. Dan Wooten and Chris Douglas made up the front row, with Douglas grabbing the early lead.

Jordan Conover came into the night 24 points behind in the points battle and tried all he could do to close the gap. Conover would hound Douglas throughout the race, trying low and high lines to find a way to grab the win.

Meanwhile, Daniel Sanchez – who came into the night leading the points chase over Tony Anderson by six points – suffered heartbreak when contact with another car cut down the left-rear tire on his car, ending his night.

Douglas held off Conover’s advances to pick up the victory, while Rob Trent finished third ahead of Casey Barr and Tony Anderson, who claimed his 12th Limaland track championship just 10 months after open-heart surgery threatened to end his career.

Next up were the non-winged sprint cars for their lone appearance of the season in a 25-lap feature. Korbyn Hayslett and Dustin Ingle led the field to the initial green flag, but had to relinquish the front row when the start was called back for firing too early.

This handed the front row to Wapakoneta, Ohio’s Mike Miller and multi-time USAC Silver Crown champion Kody Swanson. Miller and Swanson battled side by side for the first half lap, before Miller settled to the bottom of the track and set sail.

Matt Westfall methodically picked his way to second on lap 16 after starting 12th and began reeling in the leader in lapped traffic. It seemed that Westfall would come up just short, but was able to get an amazing run underneath Miller off of turn four on the final lap to grab the victory.

Miller held on for second, with Steve Irwin third, Swanson fourth and Dallas Hewitt completing the top five.

Wrapping up the night were the Northwest Physical Therapy UMP Modifieds in their 20-lap A-main. Todd Sherman and Tony Anderson made up the front row, with Anderson grabbing the early lead.

Jerry Bowersock used the middle of the track to track down Anderson and grab the lead on lap four. Anderson stayed close throughout the race, peeking under Bowersock multiple times. Meanwhile, Dylan Woodling began to charge to the front on the top of the track, getting by Shane O’Connor and Sherman.

As the laps wound down, Woodling made a final charge, nipping Anderson at the line for second. Anderson would finish third, with O’Connor 4th and Sherman fifth, wrapping up his seventh Limaland championship in the Northwest Physical Therapy Modifieds.