Patience Pays Off For Lay At Fremont


FREMONT , Ohio – Brian Lay has learned to be patient. The former asphalt racer has paid his dues in dirt track sprint car racing and it showed Saturday on Crown Battery Night at Fremont Speedway.

Lay passed Chris Andrews with seven laps to go in the Fort Ball Pizza Palace 410 sprint feature and went on to score his second win of the season at Fremont. The Genoa, Ohio, driver won earlier this year on a heavy track and showed his versatility by getting his second career Fremont win on a slick racing surface.

“When I came to this sport they said a pavement guy would never do anything. Well, that patience came from the pavement. When you’re turning 1,700 (RPM) in the corner it’s hard not to do 1,900 or 2,100 you just gotta keep control of it and keep the car under you. I have to thank all my crew. They gave me the best car I could possibly have to drive,” said La.

“The track kept getting slicker and slicker and I thought I was going to try and run the top but there was just a little bit of moisture down there (in turns one and two) and towards the end of the race he (Andrews) couldn’t hold that bottom and I was getting a half a car and then three quarters of a car. I just said don’t over drive it and be patient…we’re coming and sure enough we’re here,” said Lay.

Dave Blaney and Caleb Griffith were scheduled for the front row of the 30-lap 410 feature. However, Blaney, who easily won the Alex Burkett Memorial Australian Pursuit and its $1,000 payday, took the Baumann Auto Group Big Bucks Bump and went to the tail with the opportunity to win an extra $5,000. So, that moved Andrews beside Griffith at the start of the race.

Andrews would rocket into the lead when the green flew with Griffith staying close with Rob Chaney, Brandon Wimmer and Lay in tow. Lay would move into fourth on lap two, bringing Brian Smith into fifth. Dean Jacobs would spin on lap four to bring out the caution and on the restart Lay would drive into third as Andrews continued to lead Griffith.

A caution for a Matt Merrill spin on lap six would give Griffith a chance at Andrews. When the green flew Griffith raced to Andrews’ outside as the pair raced side by side over the next handful of laps. With 10 laps recorded the running order was Andrews, Griffith, Lay, Smith, Wimmer, Chaney, Dain Naida, Todd Heller, Byron Reed and Travis Philo.

Previous articleWaltz Drives To Win No. 5 At Langley
Next articleUSAC MIDGETS: Lawrenceburg Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.