No Intimidating Brooks At Kalamazoo

Mike Brooks won the Intimidator 75 Saturday at Michigan's Kalamazoo Speedway.
Mike Brooks won the Intimidator 75 Saturday at Michigan's Kalamazoo Speedway.
Mike Brooks won the Intimidator 75 Saturday at Michigan’s Kalamazoo Speedway.

KALAMAZOO, Mich. – Defending Outlaw Super Late Model champion Mike Brooks held off Andy Bozell in a thrilling season opener Saturday night at Kalamazoo Speedway to capture the Intimidator 75.

Tyler Roahrig set quick time and finished third ahead of Steve Needles and Brian Bergakker. Todd Harrington ran an impressive sixth beating out Robbie Ferrier, Luke Krick, John Chapman and rookie Tom Rutherford.

The Super Stocks also saw a great race with fast qualifier Buddy Head making a late race pass on Scott Rugg to pick up the victory. Kenny Head finished third beating out Kellie Jo Hofacker and Jake Hopwood. Rob Hardy led the second half of the top ten over Jordan Hunderman, Patrick Kirkendall, Chris Shannon and Larry Hollenbeck.

Toby Montgomery set quick time and then pulled off a last lap bump-and-run on Brent Hook to pick up the opening night victory. Lloyd Brooks finished third ahead of Matt Corliss and Keith Wilfong. Defending champion John Foote Jr. finished sixth ahead of Josh Highbaugh, Budd Hybels, John Bassett and Zach Westdorp.

Jerime Damron picked up the victory in the Mini Stock feature holding off Jeremy Collins, Noah Gallandt, Andrew Brest and Billy Bussema. The second half of the top ten was led by Chaz Hook over Sierra Lantz, Keith Dunham, fast qualifier Frank Stager and Chuck Greer.

The Cyber Stock feature saw fast qualifier Jerry Jansen Jr. pick up the victory over Tyler McGhan, T.C. Burgess, Bob Miller and Cliff Lambert. Dion Vrooman finished sixth ahead of Doug Nelson, D.J. Oxford, Keegan Dykstra and Drew Maxwell.

Previous articleEldora Sprint Is Darland’s
Next articlePittman Banks $20,000 At Devil’s Bowl is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.