Night Of Destruction Headlines At Toledo


TOLEDO, Ohio – Clear skies and a cool evening greeted fans for the Burge Wrecking Night of Destruction Friday night at Toledo Speedway.

The School Bus Figure 8 headliner event had the fans cheering and laughing as Archie Padgett took the win. Fourteen-year-old Race Loving jumped out of his car to a thunderous applause for the win in the Boat Figure 8 event and the duo of Tommy O’Leary and James McClure notched the Figure 8 Train race.

Greg Studt took his second win in a row in the 25 lap ARCA R&M Recycling X Car Main, while Robbie Loving grabbed the checkered flag in the 20 lap ARCA Parts Galore Figure 8 feature race. Jeff King was a busy man, taking the Race Car Bowling win, putting on a show for the fans in the Boat race and finishing 4th in the X Car race.

There was plenty of carnage and hard hits in the School Bus Figure 8 event as Archie Padgett avoided the mayhem to take the win. Dennis Whisman, Jack Franzil, Anthony Terris, Joe Koester, Scott Apperson and Robbie Loving were the other bus drivers. Loving tore the front end pretty much totally out of his bus, Terris nearly went over twice on his side and every one took a least one good hit during the event.

Jeff King did plenty of damage in the Boat Figure 8 and as Jeff tangled with Race Loving, Jeff’s boat and trailer sailed off down the ½ mile and into the infield in turn 4 as the crowd roared! Early leader Archie Padgett went a bit too quick and got his boat/trailer up on 2 wheels and lost it all early on. Loving, who just began his career several weeks ago, received a big applause as he climbed from his car to accept his trophy.

With 5 Figure 8 Train teams taking the green, Tommy O’Leary and his co-pilot James McClure avoided the traffic and some early fender-banging to win the 12 lap race over Howard Kelley Jr./Tom O’Leary III, Adam Plonski/Jim Brazeau, Tom O’Leary Jr./Charlie Williams and Kevin Stepinski/Erich Heuschele.

Greg Studt edged Tommy O’Leary to win his second in a row in the 25 lap R&M Recycling X Car feature race. Leader Rich Frantz battled with Studt as the laps wore down. Studt pulled the cross-over move and got under Rich at the lap 18 mark, only to loop his machine. Greg then held back O’Leary for the win.

Third was Archie Padgett, fourth went to Jeff King and fifth was Craig Osenbaugh, followed by Matt Ringger, Frantz, Randy Padgett Jr., Race Loving and 14 year-old Kevin Huston. O’Leary and Archie Padgett won the heats, while Studt set fast time at 11:640.

Robbie Loving sailed to victory in the 20 lap ARCA Parts Galore Figure 8 feature, topping Chris Cox, Dennis Whisman (in Dan Apperson’s car No. 17), Randy Roberts, Anthony Terris and Ian Jezylo. Whisman took the heat race win.

Previous articleKilgore Stuns Mullen At Luxemburg
Next articleAnother Pole For Nico Rosberg is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.