Niebel Classic Belongs To Tyler Roahrig

Niebel Classic Belongs
Tyler Roahrig in victory lane at Anderson Speedway. (David Sink photo)

ANDERSON, Ind. – Tyler Roahrig inherited the lead for the conclusion of the Glen Niebel Classic and powered to an impressive win at Anderson Speedway.

The 20th running of the Glen Niebel Classic presented by CB Fabricating and Thompson Insurance was completed on Thursday after inclement weather on Sept. 12 stopped the action.

It was Roahrig’s second sprint car win on the high banked quarter-mile oval having won the Tony Elliott Classic last year.

Nick Hamilton finished second 7.76-seconds back followed by Kody Swanson, Aaron Pierce and Caleb Armstrong.

“We worked on the car during the week off,” Roahrig said in victory lane. “We had a steering problem after 40 laps and I was struggling to keep up with Bobby (Santos).

“The crew gave me a really good car tonight,” he said. “I love racing at Anderson.”

The starting line-up for the resumption of the race was altered dramatically, with early leader Bobby Santos III, Eric Gordon and Kyle O’Gara all unable to return because of prior commitments.

That placed Roahrig in the lead on lap 62, followed by Nick Hamilton, Pierce, Swanson and Kyle Hamilton.

Kyle Hamilton’s night ended on lap 85 with an apparent handling problem.

But no one was able to mount a challenge to Roahrig, with Nick Hamilton, Pierce and Swanson battling for the second spot.

Swanson got inside of Pierce for the third spot on lap 116 with an inside pass coming off the fourth corner.

“We were just a little off,” Nick Hamilton said. “I knew there was pressure on me for the spot, but I just concentrated on running my line.”

Swanson said the Gene Nolen team struggled with a car’s set-up, but was pleased with a third place finish.

“The car was a little loose,” he said. “We weren’t getting good bite off the corners.”

Santos had taken the lead from Pierce on the second lap and was leading on lap 61 when the remainder of the event was postponed because of inclement weather.

The finish:

1. Tyler Roahrig; 2. Nick Hamilton; 3. Kody Swanson; 4. Aaron Pierce; 5. Caleb Armstrong; 6. Chris Neuenschwander; 7. Brian Vaughn; 8. Kyle Hamilton; 9. Scotty Hampton; 10. Johnny Petrozelle III; 11. Bobby Santos III; 12. Eric Gordon; 13. Kyle O’Gara; 14. Christian Koehler; 15. Baden Stewart; 16. Tony Main; 17. Dakoda Armstrong; 18. Johnny Gilbertson; 19. Chris Jagger; 20. Billy Wease; 21. Travis Welpott