Moody Scrambles To Central Missouri Score


WARRENSBURG, Mo. – Jim Moody raced to a $500 victory in Saturday’s USRA Modified Scramble at Central Missouri Speedway, which helped set the field for Sunday’s $3,000 main event.

Shad Badder and Jim Moody redrew for starting positions one and two and led the field down the front stretch for flagman Hershel Thompson’s initial green flag. Badder ran low while Moody took the high road to lead Badder, Kevin Blackburn, Lewis Jackson and Robbie Test during the opening circuits.

Moody quickly tried to distance himself using two different cornering techniques on the fast but trick conditions as he would enter low in turn three and let the car float up to the cushion on the high side in turn four. Badder had his hands full in a close battle with Blackburn who eventually found his way around Badder to take second.

A caution waved at the halfway point for Kaleb Bray and as the field went back to green, Moody led Blackburn, Badder, Test, and Dean Wille, who advanced from tenth to fifth by midway. Darren Phillips and Clint Lyle were early retirees from the event by lap 15, when Robbie Test and Shad Badder got together entering turn one while running hard for third.

Badder’s car spun after the contact in between turns one and two, which unfortunately dropped him from the top three to then end of the field and ultimately forcing him to have to qualify in on Sunday to make the finale.

As Moody brought the field to the green to finish the event, Blackburn, Test, Wille, and Lewis Jackson filled out the top five. Although Blackburn ran a similar line, Moody kept his car out front as Blackburn and the rest of the field were unable to figure out a way to reel in Moody, who eventually went on to collect the $500-to-win Scramble.

Blackburn finished a strong second in his first time out in a few weeks while Test held on for third. Dean Wille’s recent string of strong finishes continued as he crossed the line fourth just ahead of Gunner Martin in fifth. Completing the top 12 finishers were, Jackson, Chad Lyle, Tim Karrick, Jimmy Dowell, Terry Schultz and Brian Johnson.

Shortly after the checkers fell, CMS officials learned that Terry Schultz forfeited his starting spot for Sunday night’s main event and was going to try to re-qualify on Sunday evening for an outside row starting position. This allowed John Allen to accept the final spot of the night, which he did, completing the 12 drivers who will make up the inside row for Sunday.

Other winners on Saturday at Central Missouri included Jason Ryun (pure stocks), Moody (USRA B-Mods), Cody Miller (Mod-Lites) and Aaron Poe (street stocks).