Matthias Leads The Way At Seymour


SEYMOUR, Wis. – Jay Matthias earned his 2nd feature win of the season with a late race pass at Seymour Super Speedway. Other feature winners were Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stock Car), Tracy Wassenberg (IMCA Sport Mod), Jerry Winkler (Street Stock) and Josh Roehl (Sport Fours).

Last weeks winner Chad Bartel blasted around heat race winner Mark Van Kauwenberg for the lead on the opening lap of the IMCA Modified feature. Opening night winner Charlie Wild gave chase working to the inside for the lead. The pair raced respectfully and on lap 8 Wild took hold of the top spot. Jay Matthias and Jason Czarapata began their march through the field racing into the top five at the midway point of the contest.

A caution on lap 12 slowed the field. Gracy wove the green flag and the main was back underway with Matthias working the low groove under Wild. A lap later Matthias took the top spot and never looked back picking up his second feature win of the season. Czarapata padded his point lead with a second place finish, Wild had to settle for third, Bartel held on for fourth and Troy Jerovetz completed the top five.

Justin Jacobson jumped from his front row starting spot in the IMCA Stock Car headliner. Devin Snellenberger quickly gave chase and slipped past Jacobson for the top spot on lap six. His reign up front didn’t last long as Brandon Czarapata capture the lead from Snellenberger on lap eight. Snellenberger later clipped an infield tire and faded from the top five.