Mahder Paces Eagle Valley Modified Run


JIM FALLS, Wis. – Fans at the Eagle Valley Speedway were treated to another hot day and good racing action on Sunday.

Tim’s Automotive sponsored all six classes of racing with the WISSOTA AMSOIL dirt track series WISSOTA Modifieds, Super Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Street Stocks, EVS Pure Stocks, and EVS Hornets. Feature winners included Cory Mahder, Tommy Richards, Josh Smith, Doug Wojcik, George Richards and Buddy Hanestad.

The Modified field was paced by Cory Mahder and Bryan Nayes with Mahder taking the point for the first lap, but Nayes powered by on the outside to capture the lead on lap two. Nayes kept the lead until the halfway point with an aggressive attack on the high side when Mahder edged into the lead at the flag stand.

As the entered turns one and two, Nayes jumped the cushion and made very hard impact with the wall. The caution flag regrouped the field and ended Nayes’ great run. Mahder lead on the restart with Kent Baxter and Mark Gerth following in suit. The race ran caution free for the remaining nine laps as Mahder picked up his second win of the year, followed an impressive run by Kent Baxter, Gerth, Jay Richardson, and Jesse Glenz.

The Super Stocks were led to the green by Jason Vokovan and Chad Johnson. However a spin by Vokovan negated the first attempt and on the second try, third starting Tommy Richards gained the early lead. Racers behind the leader jockeyed for position and settled into single file formation. Another yellow flew for a spinning Vokovan, resetting the field before the halfway point. Richards continued to lead as Shane Kisling, Eric Olson, Mark Stender, and Chad Johnson followed.

A spinning Matt McEathron brought out the caution and on the restart, racing was intense. As they came to the flag stand to complete a lap, Shane Kisling spun and made major contact with the front stretch wall ending his strong run. After the lap 11 restart, the race ran caution free the remainder of the distance. Richards lead the entire event followed by Mark Stender, Olson, Johnson and Don Muzzy.