Luxemburg Closes Out 2013 Season


LUXEMBURG, Wis. – The checkered flag has fallen on the 2013 season at Luxemburg Speedway.

Fall Classic winner’s included Benji LaCrosse (Modifieds), Dustin Loberger (Badger Stockcar Tour), Andy Kleczka (Sportmods), Jerry Winkler (Street Stocks), and Scott Boulanger (Hobby Stocks).

Troy Jerovetz drew the lucky dog pole and started up front of the Modified feature. He led the opening lap before the 1st caution flag flew on lap two. Benji LaCrosse darted into the 2nd spot and made his presence felt. He shot into the lead and took off from the field. Shawn Kilgore joined the fun by the final caution of the race on lap 10.

LaCrosse would leave the duo to settle who would win the runner-up prize as LaCrosse decimated the field over the final 15 laps to pick up the winners check of $1,500. Jerovetz would win the race long battle over Kilgore for second. Mike Mullen beat his dad Brian Mullen to the line for fourth.

Jarred VanLaanen used his outside pole starting spot to jump into the lead of the Sportmod main. Andy Kleczka would get the top spot the next lap only to see the caution flag fly handing the lead back to VanLaanen. Tracy Wassenberg joined the duo on the caution and flew into the lead down low on the restart. Wassenberg would hook up on the outside of the track and be well on his way to victory until a caution with seven laps remaining put a halt to the win.

On the restart, Wassenberg was on top and Kleczka timed the restart perfectly. Kleczka made the pass and would keep Wassenberg at bay to win the main event. Brian Bruechert charged through the field to finish third. Troy DeGrave finished fourth with Josh Long fifth.

Shawn Haydon looked smooth early on in the Street Stock show. Haydon, Gary Kasperek and Jerry Winkler checked out from the field initially. With Kasperek and Haydon duking it out; Winkler tip toed on the bottom and made the 3 wide pass for the lead. A caution with four laps to go set up a final dash. Keith Kickbusch was able to make a run into second but was only able to get to the back bumper of Winkler. Winkler picked up the victory just ahead of Kickbusch. Jon Ashcraft stole third place away from Kasperek late. Haydon wound up fifth.

Cody Junio and Derek Moede started up front in the Hobby Stock and stayed next to each other almost the whole feature. Junio led the opening lap with Derek Moede taking control on the next circuit. Scott Boulanger became involved on lap 6th and made a bid for the lead. Boulanger would keep his machine hooked up and drove into the lead and away from the field. Boulanger picked up the fall classic win. Junio won the battle for second over Moede. Rob Waechter Jr and Sawyer Haese finished out the top five.

Oconto’s Dustin Loberger shaded Union’s Troy Muench and Oconto’s Scott Stewart in the final laps and went on to win the caution free Badger Stock Tour feature presented by Kick Ass Drive Train & Iron Horse Recycling.

Loberger outraced polesitter Billy LeMieux at the drop of the green and immediately built up a four car length lead. As the laps went on Stewart, who is Loberger’s teammate, opted for the high line and pulled door-to-door alongside of Loberger on more than one occasion.

Meanwhile Muench, who started seventh, picked his way through the field by lap ten and grabbed third. Muench made it a three car tussle for the lead by the halfway point of lap 13.

The three raced hard right up the final checkers, with Loberger picking up the win. Muench nabbed second at the line over Stewart, who collected his second BST podium finish having won the BST opener at Seymour Speedway July 17. Current BST points leader “Hot Rod” Snellenberger of Pulaski took fourth. Green Bay’s John Heinz rounded out the top five and earned the hard charger award, battling his way into the big show by winning one of two last chance qualifiers.

A total of 42 BST stock cars checked in to compete at Luxemburg.

Previous articleWampler Locks Up Susquehanna Crown
Next articleCrouse Leads BRP Race Winners is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.