Leer Untouchable In Eagle Valley Modifieds


JIM FALLS, Wis. – Cooler temperatures greeted fans at the Eagle Valley Speedway on Sunday.

Quality Propane sponsored all six classes of racing with the WISSOTA AMSOIL dirt track series WISSOTA Modifieds, Super Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Street Stocks, EVS Pure Stocks, and EVS Hornets. Feature winners included Matt Leer, Tommy Richards, Grant Southworth, Danny Richards, Talon Laabs, and Kasey Gross.

As the modified field gathered for their pace lap, Kevin Adams had mechanical problems and was pushed from the raceway. The remainder of the field was paced by Matt Leer and Jay Richardson with Leer taking the point and never looking back as he drove 20 nonstop laps for the win. Curt Meyers, Jesse Glenz, Jay Richardson, and last starting Steve Hallquist rounded out the top five.

The Super Stocks were led to the green Darrel Hazelton and James Cimfl. Fifth starting Wayne Harris grabbed an early lead as Tommy Richards and Mark Stender were mired deep in the field. A spin by Jason Vokovan brought out the yellow on lap four. On the restart, Richards powered by Harris on the inside to grab the lead and run away from the field for a dominating feature win. Harris, Stender, Hazelton, and Jim Harris followed home for the top five.

Dan Hesch and Dylan Goettl paced the Midwest Modified field to the green for their feature event as Goettl took the point for one lap. However, he was quickly overtaken by Nick Koehler who was running the low groove like he was on rails. By lap five, Koehler had extended his lead to a large advantage but the field was reset after a Miranda Carlson spin brought out the caution flag.

On the restart, Koehler began to resume his position dominating the race. Suddenly, he pulled into the infield in turn two, ending his terrific run as Grant Southworth inherited the lead. Southworth in turn, ran flawlessly to the end, winning is third feature of the year and second of the weekend. He was followed home by Josh Smith, Hesch, Goettl, and Joe Chaplin.

The Street Stock feature featured Travis Hazelton and Mike Knudtson in the front row with fourth starting Danny Richards leading the first circuit. Behind him was a terrific battle for second between several cars that at times were four wide on the racing surface. Doug Wojcik eventually captured second and set off to try to catch Richards.

A Troy Chaplin spin brought out the caution and set up a green, white, checkered sprit to the finish. Richards held off the challenges of Wojcik, as Travis Hazelton, Mike Knudtson, and Jay Kesan filled out the top five spots.

Rob Grabon and Mike Knops filled the front row for the Pure Stock feature as Grabon lead early but was overtaken by Talon Laabs. A caution after four laps reset the field and found eighth starting George Richards in second. On the restart Laabs resumed the lead with Richards in tow as Pat Smith and Mike Knopps battles for third.

A lap seven caution again reset the field as Laabs again drove into the lead. With two laps to go, Richards turned up the wick and battled hard for the win. The two cars were dead even at the white flag, but Laabs never wavered, driving home for a close win. Richards finished second, followed by Smith, Knopps, and Grabon.

The EVS Hornets were paced by Scott Westaby and Kasey Gross with Gross leading lap one as Buddy Hanestad closed in to battle for the lead. Gross withstood the initial attack and began to stretch his lead to a large advantage at the finish over Hanestad, Jay Welk, Armond Love, and Ashley Seidler.