Leer Sails To Eagle Valley Modified Score


JIM FALLS, Wis. – Fantastic weather greeted fans at the Eagle Valley Speedway on Sunday.

River Country Coop, Bellatoria Pizza and Gordy’s County Market sponsored all six classes of racing with the WISSOTA AMSOIL dirt track series WISSOTA Modifieds, Super Stocks, Midwest Modifieds, Street Stocks, EVS Pure Stocks, and EVS Hornets. Feature winners included Matt Leer, Curt Myers, Josh Smith, Doug Wojcik, George Richards, and Brent Voeltz.

When the Modified field took the green flag with Kevin Adams on the pole many fans likely believed they could predict the future. They were wrong as outside front row starter Matt Leer grabbed the lead on the first lap and running the cushion masterfully; he led every lap of the caution free race unchallenged. Adams immediately moved to the cushion behind Leer and he too ran unchallenged for second. Curt Meyers worked the low side to a third place finish as Mark Gerth and Jesse Glenz rounded out the top five.

The Super Stocks were led to the green by Andrew Bleess and Jeff Brauer with Brauer taking the early lead. Soon the fourth starting Curt Myers powered to the point. A lap four spin by Matt Wolfe reset the field and upon the restart, Myers checked out and left everyone else to fend for second.

Initially Mark Stender and Brauer battled for second as Tommy Richards and Eric Olson followed closely behind. Richards made it three wide for the position and took over second, and with a few laps remaining, Brauer earned third. Stender and Olson rounded out the top five as Myers won his eleventh Super Stock feature of the year and his second consecutive at Eagle Valley.

Antonio Pintaro and Jason Richardson paced the Midwest Modified field to the green for their feature event. A first lap caution reset the field for a second attempt and it was fourth starting Nick Koehler leading the first circuit. Josh Smith, Travis Anderson, Jake Smith, and Shane Halopka ran in the top five through lap 12, when a caution reset the field with three laps remaining.

The restart was voided by another caution and they tried again. A frantic three lap dash found Josh Smith stealing the lead on a high side move, securing the position on the last lap. He was followed home by Koehler, Halopka, Anderson and Jake Smith.

The Street Stock feature was brought to green by Andrew Cimfl and Travis Hazelton but Doug Wojcik blasted to a commanding lead from his fourth starting position in the first lap. Wojcik never looked back as he shredded the field for his twentieth feature win of the season. A strong running Danny Richards broke down running second and the final top five included Mike Knudtson, Hazelton, Cimfl, and AJ Kania.

Austin Workman and Jake Hanson filled the front row for the Pure Stock feature but Andrew Conklin, driving the 15P of Clay Potaczek drove to the lead. The yellow flag flew for Talon Laabs losing a tire as the caution was charged to Dalton Hazelton. On lap seven, George Richards motored to the lead and drove away winning his sixteenth feature win of the season. He has won on all but two nights this year at Eagle Valley. Conklin finished second, followed by Todd Roshell, a hard charging Hazelton, and a very nice run found Jake Hanson finishing fifth.

The EVS Hornets were paced by Scott Westaby and Jay Welk with a three lap battle for the lead eventually won by Welk. Soon it was a five car pack battling hard for the point. Kasey Gross earned the lead but Brent Voeltz closed to challenge at the half way point. Voeltz made the move for the lead on lap seven but a caution for debris gave the position back to Gross. The restart featured a three wide battle for the point as Welk rejoined the fray. With two laps remaining, Voeltz grabbed the lead for good and drove on for the win. Welk, Gross, Westaby and Armond Love rounded out the top five.