Lauritzen Among Marshalltown Winners


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa – Strong northerly winds caused a lot of issues and concerns for track officials at Marshalltown Speedway Friday, but the track still presented a strong multi grooved racing surface that produced some close finishes.

Adam Gates jumped to the lead on lap one in the IMCA Sport Compacts feature. Gates and Merv Chandler race wheel to wheel with Chandler grabbing the lead on lap two. Gates didn’t give up as he grabbed the lead back on lap three and went on to take his fourth win of the season. Chandler finished second, John Gill came home third, Travis Losenicky was fourth and Chad Larson in fifth.

In the Toby K’s Hideaway Mod Lite feature it was Dusty Masolini grabbing the early lead. Masolini lead until lap five when Mike Morrill and Andy Hennigar sneak by Masolini. Morrill and Andy Hennigar battled for the lead until Hennigar was able to grab the top spot on lap ten. Hennigar went on to take his fourth win. Morrill, Josh May, Randy Bryan and Mike Kennedy rounded out the top five.

The Big 8 Tyre Center IMCA SportMods feature saw Bill Hildreth grab the early lead. Just after the completion of lap one the caution waved when Paul Nagle lost a rear spring in turn two. Hildreth held on to the lead until the next caution on lap two when a handful cars get together in turn four.

Previous articleCzarapata Cashes In At Luxemburg
Next articleWOO: LaSalle Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.