Kelley Survives Toledo Mayhem


TOLEDO, Ohio – Howard Kelley Jr., Tommy O’Leary and Archie Padgett took feature race wins Friday night at Toledo Speedway on Teamsters Union Night.

It was smooth sailing for the first 33 laps of the 35 lap ARCA ACME Dismantling Sportsman event, as Greg Stilwell led the first 5 laps until Jim Froling motored by for the lead. Howard Kelley Jr. reeled in Jim as the laps wore down and with 2 to go, the fireworks began. A turn 2 incident bunched the field, putting Kelley on the outside and Froling on the inside lane.

Froling spun coming out of turn two, bringing out another yellow. Jim took responsibility, moving Ron Allen up to second spot. On the restart, another multi-car wreck in turn two brought out the red flag, as Norm Lewallen and Mike Young sustained heavy damage to their machines. The inside cement blocks had to be put back in place, causing a delay in the action. Chad Stilwell also retired as part of the wreck. Kelley was able to pull away on the final restart and held on for the victory, his second in a row.

Allen was second, Kyle DeLisle Jr. third, Froling came back to grab fourth and Greg Stilwell fifth, followed by Andy Harding, Kent McCloskey, Kenny McKay Jr., Amber Slagle and Dan Grigsby. Froling won the 4 car dash, with heat wins to JJ Haley and McKay Jr. Fast qualifier was Allen with a lap of 17:276.

Win number three of the season is in the books for Tommy O’Leary as he scored the win in the 25 lap ARCA R & M Recycling X Car feature race. Matt Ringger was the early leader until O’Leary took advantage of some bump and run antics, sliding up to the outside lane and by several cars on his way to the front. By lap 8 it was all O’Leary, as Greg Studt got within a couple of car lengths at the stripe to take second.

Dennis Whisman, Rich Frantz, Archie Padgett, Matt Ringger, Brian Ringger, Craig Osenbaugh, Jeff King and Race Loving were next in line to complete the top ten. O’Leary set quick time at 11:729. Matt Ringger and Randy Padgett Jr. were the heat race winners.

A wild Boat Figure 8 race saw plenty of hard contact and boats flying off the trailers, much to the delight of the crowd. Through it all, Archie Padgett survived to take the win. Jeff King and Ian Jezylo did plenty of damage as they plotted, waited and plowed into the boats and trailers. Bill Carberry, Randy Padgett and Eric Padgett also towed through rough seas.

Previous articlePHOTOS: NASCAR Sprint Cup At Kentucky
Next articleNATIONWIDE: Subway Firecracker 250 is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.