Kay Extends Davenport Winning Streak


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Friday night at the Davenport Speedway had a little bit of everything. The evening at the stock car races included rain, rainbows, a first time winner, and a whole lot of intense racing action. The night was topped off by an appearance from the Midwest Jalopies.

Justin Kay extended his winning streak in the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model division to four straight victories, and five overall. Kay started eleventh and passed Spencer Diercks for the lead, just before the halfway mark of the race. Kay had nearly half a lap lead as he reached the checkers.

Andy Nezworski also got past Spencer Diercks late in the race for second. Diercks held on for third. Matt Ryan raced to a solid fourth, while Stephan Kammerer smoked his way to a fifth place finish.

Bob Dominacki found the high side to his liking as he collected his second EMS IMCA Modified victory of the season. Dominacki survived a couple of restarts and some lapped traffic to score the win. Matt Werner made a late charge to finish second, just ahead of Dan Chapman. Brian Bushong finished fourth, with Tony VonDresky taking fifth.

Keith Jackson captured his first-ever Davenport victory in the Koehler Electric Street Stock main. Jackson grabbed the lead after a lap one restart, resulting from a huge crash in turn four. No one was seriously injured in the wreckage.

Jackson led flag-to flag for the win. Jeremy Marquette recovered from an early race caution to finish second. Kevin Dickey was third, with Rick Schriner fourth, and Jeremy Gustaf completing the top five.

For the second time this season, Ricky Kay joined his son in same day victory lane celebrations. Ricky passed Doug Burkhead for the lead on lap nine of the 15-lap feature, en route to his second Hawkeye Auto IMCA Sport Mod win. Dan Mohr made a late race dash for the lead, but would settle for second. Burkhead would finish third, followed by Ben Chapman and Brandon Jewell.

Joe Zrostlik won the Roto-Rooter 4-Stock main. The victory was his first point race win of the season. Zrostlik was able to drive around Andy Loy to take the win. Loy finished second. Jake Benischek crossed the stripe in third, but was disqualified after post-race inspection. Brandon Dahl was credited with third, and was followed by Aaron Hitt and Andy Wagener.

The Midwest Jalopies feature was dominated by Roger Ciesielski. Rodney Haack won the battle for second. Austin Honts, Bob Mingst, and Doug Picray were third through fifth, in that order.