Karrick Snaps Central Missouri Drought

Tim Karrick picked up his first A-Mod win at Central Missouri Speedway since August of 2015 on Saturday night. (Joshua Allee Photo)

WARRENSBURG, Mo. – More than 100 race cars filled the grounds of Central Missouri Speedway for a busy night of racing Saturday.

Tim Karrick took home top honors in the A-Mod main event, beating a strong 25-car field. The 25-lap A-Main started with Chad Lyle and Darron Fuqua on the front row. Fuqua’s night ended quickly as he was unable to complete a lap.

Several early cautions slowed the start of the race as Lyle and Mickey Burrell ran near the front. By lap five, Karrick took command over Lyle with Matt Johnson third and Burrell fourth. The caution flag waved again on lap nine as the drivers worked hard to figure out the fastest line.

By lap 10 the caution waved yet again as Karrick retained his lead on the frontstretch. Drivers settled into their race rhythm for the next several laps as Karrick held point with Lyle second.

In heavy traffic, Karrick did not look back and collected the $1,200 victory. It was Karrick’s first Central Missouri win since August of 2015. Lyle was second at the finish with 15th-starting Terry Schultz in third. Rounding out the top five were Dalton Kirk and Johnson.

Other winners Saturday at Central Missouri included Steve Evans (pure stocks), Dillon Raffurty (mod-lite), J.C. Morton (b-mod) and Aaron Poe (street stocks).