Johnson Continues Skyline Hot Streak


STEWART, Ohio – Kenny Johnson remained a perfect five-for-five in the Octane AMRA Modifieds, and in the companion Kryptonite AMRA Late Models Josh McGuire has gone two-for-two as both veterans picked up feature wins at Billy Jarrell’s Skyline Speedway Friday night.

Second generation driver Chris Myers got the jump on the field and led every lap to win his first-ever Skyline Speedway A-main in the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Ass’n 410 sprint division, while Austin Washburn won the Mike’s Auto Body Mini-wedge main.

The wins were worth $1,500 to both McGuire and Myers. Johnson brought home $500 for his effort.

Nine exciting heat races – three of which came down to last lap passes – set the stage for the trio of A-mains. Preliminary events had the crowd cheering and on its feet a good deal of the time, especially in hard-fought wins from Jason Montgomery in the Late Models and Kenny Johnson in the Modifieds.

Aaron Higgins and Wayne McPeek set the stage for the 410 sprint car main, but when Higgins’ mount wheelie-hopped three times at the drop of the green, young Chris Myers shot into the lead and led every lap to claim his first Skyline A-main. Myers had his work cut out for him , however, as McPeek dogged the masterful youth much of the first ten laps.

McPeek actually went ahead on several different occasions in the turns, but Myers rode the momentum down the back chute to lead each lap at the start-finish line. McPeek became entangled in a duel with Kory Crabtree, who just laps later would chase down Myers and make a bid at the lead.

On lap five Brian Benson tangled with another car and did a slow roll over to bring out the red. Benson was ok, but done for the evening.That came after Jimmy Stinson did a 360 in front of the pack, but managed to avoid contact and kept his mount rolling.

Crabtree’s bid for the lead fizzled somewhat when Ryan Broughton came on strong at the finish and pre-occupied the charging Crabtree. McPeek faded to fourth, while Dave Dickson was consistently strong and brought home fifth. Broughton claimed third in a good, solid run.

The Hard Charger in the Sprints was Wes McGlumphy, moving up ten positions from 16th to sixth. McGlumphy picked off car after car, but was slowed when he came upon the defending OVSCA champ Dickson. Behind Dickson in the top ten were McGlumphy, Aaron Higgins, Nathan Skaggs, Greg Mitchell, and Jimmy Stinson.

Myers brought home the popular win in the Triple X “XXX” Chassis/Gaerte Engine Powered No. 25. The win was his second of the year in the OVSCA.

Previous articleSneeringer Stops McClelland At Trail-Way
Next articleWOO: River Cities Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.