Intense Night Of Racing At Luxemburg


LUXEMBURG, Wis. – Feature racing provided great entertainment for fans and drivers alike Friday night at Luxemburg Speedway. Scott Boulanger finished out the evening by winning the Trailer Race of Destruction.

Scott Karbon had a career night by opening as the leader of the Street Stock feature. Karbon would continue to lead until Gary Kasperek and Keith Kickbusch made their way passed and into the top two spots. Kasperek would try to keep the lead but Kickbusch would shoot to the lead coming to the white flag.

Kickbusch would beat Kasperek back to the line for his seventh feature win of the season. Marcus Moede lost two points in the championship points by finishing third. Scott Karbon finished a career best fourth with Tony Everard fifth.

Wayne Haines led the opening lap of the IMCA Sportmod Feature before giving way to the new leader in Dennis Miesler. Miesler would continue to lead with Brian Bruechert mixing it up for second place. The top duo would be joined by Chris Budzban for the spot. Chris Budzban shot into the lead on the bottom of the track with five laps to go.

He would lead until a caution with a couple laps to go would set up the field for the finish. Andy Kleczka started 19th on the field and had worked his way up to fifth with two laps to go. Kleczka shot into the runner up spot and trailed Budzban with two laps to go. He ran the extreme highline to catch and beat Budzban at the checkers by mere inches. The win was Kleczka’s 2nd of the season. Budzban settled for second with Bruechert, Josh Long and Dennis Miesler rounding out the top five.

The opening lap of the IMCA Hobby Stock Feature belonged to Jordan Parma before Cody Junio shot into the lead. Junio would keep Aaron Zellner in his rearview mirror until a bobble would give him the lead. Zellner would lead until a caution would put the field on his back bumper. Scott Boulanger used the caution to his advantage and pulled to the outside of Zellner and into the lead at the white flag. Boulanger would hold off Zellner for his fourth win of the season. Dan VanPay finished third with Cory Cotter fourth. Derek Moede is the solo point leader with his fifth place finish.

Heat race winner Eric Malfroid started on the pole of the IMCA Stockcar Feature and took control of the race. He led the first three laps of the main until Barry VanStraten used the outside of the track to grab the lead. Tony Bouche would make his way into second and work his way inside of VanStraten for the lead on lap 12. Rob Waechter, Scott Stewart and Brandon Czarapata made it a five car battle for the lead with seven laps to go.

The stars aligned and a four-wide battle out of turn 2 gave Brandon Czarapata the lead. He pulled away over the final six laps to extend his point lead by over a full night of racing. Rob Waechter wound up finishing a strong 2nd and John Heinz 3rd. Barry VanStraten faded to fourth with Scott Stewart fifth.

Cory Cochart won the opening night IMCA Modified Feature in 2012 and seemed to be well on his way again. Cochart would lead the field over the course of the race before Shawn Kilgore caught him on lap 15. Kilgore moved inside of Cochart and into the lead. Todd Dart would lock up with Cochart in a battle for second.

Benji LaCrosse had to start the race at the back of the pack after forgetting his transponder. LaCrosse moved up 16 spots under green flag action. The lone race caution with three laps to go gave everyone one last shot at Kilgore. Kilgore jumped out to a great restart and picked up his third win of the season. Dart lost one championship point with his runner-up finish. LaCrosse wound up third with Cochart fourth. Lance Arneson finished in fifth.