Herbst Hustles At LaCrosse


WEST SALEM, Wis. — J. Herbst used a double-file restart with five laps to go to win the Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Model feature Saturday night at La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway.

Jerimy Wagner started on the pole, and on the first lap Matthew Henderson went spinning into the infield on the backstretch. There was no caution, but Wagner was able to open a ten car length gap between himself and the rest of the field.

On lap five Steve Carlson took the second position from Troy Rave. Within five laps Carlson had closed the gap between him and Wagner. The leaders then caught lap traffic, slowing down Wagner and allowing Carlson to take over the lead.

Over the next ten laps Carlson ran away with the lead while Rave, Wagner and Brent Kirchner battled for the second spot.

With five laps to go a caution came out when Brian Lee spun in the middle of turn three and four. Carlson kept the lead on the double file restart and the next four cars stuck to the inside. Herbst, who started in the middle of the pack, took advantage and was the first car to go to the outside.

When the cars exited turn four for the restart Herbst jumped into the lead and passed Carlson before the field reached turn one.

“The timing on the restart was just luck,” Herbst said. “I couldn’t do that two weeks in a row.”

Carlson wasn’t able to catch Herbst and finished second, followed by Shawn Pfaff, Kirchner and Todd Korish.

Jimmy Gilster won the caution-free North Country Contractors Sportsmen division after starting seventh. He quickly made his way to the front to let the rest of the pack battle for second. Greg Scheck was able to hang on to a second place finish and Matt Inglett followed in third.

Behind them Randy Humfeld and Dan Gilster were door handle to door handle for fourth. After laps of trading paint and track positions Humfeld led Dan Gilster across the finish line.

Chad Oehler won his first feature race in the United Auto Supply Thunderstox division. Oehler started on the outside of row one and held on through 15 laps of beating and banging to cross the finish line first. Oehler was followed by rookie of the year contender David Cavin. Jordan Myers, who is leading the rookie of the year contenders in points, finished third.

Josh Inglett won the novelty Boat Race after a fan vote. Boats were piled along the backstretch after the first couple of laps. Those drivers that managed to keep their boats attached to their cars were being pulled all over the track. Once the race came to a close the track was littered with debris reminiscent of the trailer race of destruction.


Previous articleMacon Movers
Next articleCUP: Sprint All-Star Race
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.