Havel Takes Thunderhill Feature


STURGEON BAY, Wisc. – Shawn Havel hustled around Jamie Suchocki late in the going to earn his 3rd feature win of the season at Thunderhill Raceway in the IMCA Stock Cars.

Other feature winners were Todd Dart (IMCA Modified), Josh Massart (IMCA Sport Mod), Dave Schmidt (IMCA Hobby Stock) and Dan Gracyalny (Street Stock)

Havel went unchallenged in the caution-free IMCA Stock Car event. Suchocki had to settle for second, Charlie Kroll, Billy LeMieux and Dave Bouche rounded out the top five.

Kevin Luedtke took the lead from Todd Wagner in the Street Stock feature on lap 3. Luedtke looked like the man to best as Geno Sternard and Dan Gracyalny gave chase. Gracyalny was able to secure second and began applying heavy pressure to the leader.

Coming for the checkers, Gracyalny muscled his way inside Luedtke, Sternard took the extreme top side. The trio was 3 wide out of turn 4 with sparks flying and smoke rolling Gracyalny was able to edge by Luedtke and Sternard by mere inches to pick up the win in his first visit of the season.

Luedtke held on for second with a flat tire, Sternard took over the point lead with a third place, Brandon Peterson placed fourth with Jeremy Dubois fifth. Billy LeMieux came into the night leading the standings but again suffered mechanical issues during his qualifying race which forced him to borrow a car to run the feature.

Josh Massart had his hands full with early cautions and Bernie Reinhardt in the IMCA Sport Mod feature. Massart fresh off a heat race win paced the field until a series of cautions bunched the field. Massart dominated the rest of the event as he picked up a clean sweep on the night with his first win of the season.

Randy LeMieux Jr. was second, Chris Budzban had a rough night but salvaged a third place finish as he retook the point lead, Jarred VanLaanen was fourth and Reinhardt held on for fifth.

“Felix” Todd Dart took the lead away from Tyler Hackett early in the IMCA Modified feature. Despite several cautions Dart was never challenged as his scored his 6th feature win of the season. Hackett was second, James Tebon third and Al Gibson brought home fourth.

Dave Schmidt was victories for the 3rd time this season in the IMCA Hobby Stocks.


Previous articleBusy Night At 141 Speedway
Next articleBeiler Wins Street Stocks In Macon
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.