Grosz Controls Jackson Motorplex Sprint

Lee Grosz in victory lane Saturday at the Jackson Motorplex.
Lee Grosz in victory lane Saturday at the Jackson Motorplex.

JACKSON, Minn. – Lee Grosz, Bill Johnson and Eric Schultz each garnered a feature victory on Saturday evening as Jackson Motorplex hosted Glenn Gillund Night presented by Gillund Enterprises.

Grosz garnered his second DeKalb/Asgrow presents the Midwest Power Series and Midwest Sprint Touring Series 360 sprint cars win of the season at the oval. The result propelled him into the lead in the track championship standings.

Grosz took the lead on a wild lap eight when he and Dominic Scelzi, who led the first seven laps, reached thick traffic. Grosz dove to the bottom in turn one and slid Scelzi, who turned his race car underneath Grosz in turn two.

The duo drag raced into turn three with Scelzi regaining the top spot before Grosz made the race-winning pass with a daring move in turn four.

“I had my mind set I had to go in and run the bottom early,” Grosz said. “I figured I might as well move up behind (Scelzi) and wait for lapped traffic. Sometimes running second is better in that position.”

Grosz pulled away during the non-stop race and Scelzi ended second. Dusty Zomer placed third with Trey Starks fourth and Matt Juhl fifth.

Johnson extended his lead in the Heartland Steel RaceSaver sprint cars presented by Wyffels Hybrids championship standings thanks to his second triumph of the season. He started the feature fifth and took the top spot approximately two thirds of the way through the 20-lap A Main.

Ryan Voss recorded a runner-up result with Colin Smith third, 11th-starting Mike Moore fourth and Jody Rosenboom fifth.

Schultz scored his first NSL non-winged sprint car victory of the season. Craig Campton, Johnny Parsons III, Doug Schenck and Jimmy Kouba rounded out the top five, respectively.