Fuqua Headlines Central Missouri Winners


WARRENSBURG, Mo. – The annual Memorial Day weekend special event at Central Missouri Speedway concluded on Sunday evening with 101 drivers and teams on hand for competition in five race divisions.

In the night’s final race, drivers were up to the challenge of an extremely slick track for the $3,000-to-win, 35-lap A-Mod main event. Three caution flags waved early in the race as outside polesitter Chad Lyle led Dustin Hodges, Darron Fuqua and Terry Schultz.

As drivers did their best to maintain their spots on the low side of the track, three additional cautions waved by lap 25.

When the race resumed Fuqua, who had taken over second, began to pressure Lyle for the lead. Fuqua kept the pressure on as the lead pair approached lapped traffic and ultimately grabbed the lead with a low side pass on Lyle between turns one and two.

Shortly thereafter the race’s final caution waved, forcing a green-white-checkered finish, with Fuqua claiming the victory. Initially, the remaining top-five included Lyle, Hodges, Tyler Davis, and Schultz. However, Lyle’s car did not pass post-race technical inspection and he was disqualified from the finish. The win was Fuqua’s ninth at the track and first since August of last year.

Other feature winners included Cole Campbell (B-Mod), Dillon Raffurty (Mod Lites), Aaron Poe (Street Stocks) and Logan Headley (Pure Stocks).