Four Drivers Claim Rockford Glory


LOVES PARK, Ill. – Matt Lundberg, Patrick Burns, Jimmy Robinson, and Frank Slabenak, Jr. each took home feature wins on day two of the 47th Annual National Short Track Championships at Rockford Speedway.

Matt Lundberg held off Daryl Gerke to win the Goodyear Racing Tire Area Sportsman 50. Kody Hubred was the early leader with Lundberg chasing him down. With 21 laps to go, Hubred would get loose going into turn one. Lundberg would take dive under him Hubred and take over the lead coming out of turn two.

A few laps later Gerke would take over the second spot. Gerke would try to chase down the Lundberg’s station wagon but would come up short giving Lundberg the win. Hubred was third with Kyle Chwala in fourth. Darrell Garman rounded out the top five.

Patrick Bruns and Sean Murphy got the fans on the edge of their seats in an incredible last lap battle in the Illini Midgets Jersey Mike’s 50-lap event. Bruns crossed the start/finish line as the leader with the white flag in the air.

Murphy got a run out of two and went back to the lead in the backstretch. Bruns got on the inside of Murphy going into turn three. The two touched in turn four causing Murphy to get loose allowing Bruns to take the win. Tyler Shullick was third.

Jimmy Robinson was the big winner in the Hobby Stox O’Reilly Auto Parts 30 lap feature event. Robinson got on the inside of Bobby Frisch with 15 laps to go. The two battled side-by-side until Robinson was able to pull away coming off of turn two. Frisch finished third with Kyle McQuality in fourth. Derek Nichol rounded out the top five.

Frank Slabenak Jr. held off Freddy Pitner and Dick Kath to win the Sunoco Race Fuel Illinois Vintage car 20.

Two new NSTC track records were set in qualifying today. Daryl Gerke set a new track record in the Area Sportsman division with a time of 14.408 seconds. Dustin Ward set a new record in the Hobby Stox with a time of 15.730 seconds