Four Claim Flat Rock Wins


FLAT ROCK, Mich. – Landon Schuster, Chris Fitzpatrick and Jeremy Vanderhoof captured feature wins on Saturday at Flat Rock Speedway, while Billy Earley scored the win in a wild Flag Pole race.

The ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A-Main 40-lap feature ran 37 laps straight without a yellow flag. Pole-sitter Landon Schuster took the lead at the start, with pressure from Scott Selmi the entire distance. Selmi tucked in on the bumper of Landon early in the contest, then went to the high lane to look for a way around Landon’s No. 118. Scott got to the door of Schuster on several occasions, but couldn’t pull off the move for the point. Selmi again tried to get to the front, but Schuster held on for his first win of the season. Selmi came home second, Rob Moore was third, Tim Moore fourth and Kyle Worley fifth.

Chris Fitzpatrick battled with Rich Abel for the lead in the 15-lap DTS Street Stock B-Main and took control when the duo banged wheels. Chris held on for the victory, which he dedicated to his father, Bob, who passed away in April. Abel and a fast-closing Danny Bennett were next in line at the stripe. Troy Brehmer, Larry Smouthers Jr., Justin Rodriguez, Jeffrey Kurzyniec and Bobby Jackson completed the finishing order.

Guy Fire set the Fastime Racing Engines and Parts fast time for the 30 car field with a lap of 13:615, while Danny Bennett led the B Main cars at 14:277. Heat race winners were Rob Moore, Rick Bennett, Lonnie York and Danny Bennett.

Jeremy Vanderhoof held back the charge of Robbie Loving to win the Praxair Figure 8 feature. Randy Roberts took the early lead until Vanderhoof reeled in the leader. The 12 -0car inversion put Fastime Racing Engines and Parts fast qualifier Jeremy Miller (21:164) deep in the 17 car field, but Jeremy worked his way up to the lead pair and the race became a three-car battle.

Miller dropped back in the final five laps with a cut tire, while Greg Studt and Dennis Whisman advanced their positions in the closing laps. Vanderhoof grabbed the win over Loving, Studt, Roberts, Miller, Whisman,

The evening was capped off with the Flag Pole race-with the object of the event aimed at going around a tire in both the front straight and back straight for each of the eight laps. The 11-car field had plenty of excitement and passes for the lead, along with several fender-banging incidents. Billy Earley piloted the No. 08 of Dan Apperson to the win and visited the 7-Up Winners Circle as he notched the win after a battle with John Lambert.

Previous articleUtter Tops Corn Belt Clash
Next articleBoney Returns To Victory Lane At Central Mo. is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.