Five Different Winners As Lincoln Opens Its Season


LINCOLN, Ill. – Lincoln Speedway finally waved the green on its racing season Friday night at the Logan County Fairgrounds.

The pits had a stellar field of cars, while the seating in the stands was limited for proper social distancing.

The DIRTcar Pro Late Models had a stacked field of 25 cars sign up to race. After qualifying, three heats, and a B-main, the 20-car field was set for the feature event. The 20-lap race was a good one, with good side-by-side action throughout.

Jake Little led the first couple laps before Jose Parga was able to pull of a clean slider in turn two to take the top spot. The race stayed green, almost to the end before a late race caution bunched everyone back up.

Down the stretch, Parga was able to hold off Little’s advances, while Aaron Heck, Dakota Ewing, and Brandon Eskew completed the top five.

Amazingly, all 20 cars that took the green also took the checkered with no DNF’s.

Steven Brooks led the first five laps in a 20-car DIRTcar Modified feature before Donovan Lodge made a move on the bottom line. Lodge took the lead on lap six, while Brooks settled in third.

Moving into second was Allen Weisser, who was working hard, trying to track down Lodge. The race had just one caution, which came out on lap 17 and bunched the field up for a three lap run to the finish.

Coming to the checkered, it was Donovan Lodge claiming the victory in his new car, while Weisser, Steven Brooks, Derrick Carlson, and Austin Lynn completed the top five.

Andy Baugh led the first two laps in the Nutech Seed DII Midget feature before Mitchell Davis scooted by him on lap three. Davis would go on to lead until lap 11, when Baugh made a little contact while getting around him for the top spot.

As the duo entered turn three, Davis drove it in a little harder trying to get back to the front and looped his No. 7x. After the heated exchange at the front between the two, things settled down with Baugh taking the win, followed by Daltyn England, Tyler Roth, Scott Koerner, and Brent Burrows.

No one went for the Nutech Seed Front Row challenge, so the bonus will be up to $400 for next week.

Cerro Gordo, Ill., driver Terry Reed raced into the early lead in the DIRTcar Street Stock feature, but it wasn’t going to be an easy feat for the veteran to win.

Reed had a triumvirate of drivers challenge him as Andy Zahnd, Jerrad Krick, and Darrell Dick all held the second spot during the course of the race. Also, making a strong effort was Steve Ewing, who was running up top while everyone else hugged the bottom.

At the checkered, Reed was followed by Dick, Krick, Ewing, and Zahnd.

Rounding out the action was the DIRTcar Hornet class, where David Lauritson started in the fourth spot and raced to the lead early on.

Lauritson was able to fend off two of some of the best Hornet racers around, with Eric Vanapeldoorn, Brady Reed, Dallas Strach, and Jay Mariuzza racing behind him.

The Normal, Ill., driver claimed his first feature victory in the end after many years of racing at the Lincoln track.

Lincoln Speedway plans to be back in action on June 19, with the 305 sprint cars getting on track for the first time this year.

Joining them will be Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Nutech Seed DII Midgets, and Hornets.