Figure 8 Action Packs Flat Rock


FLAT ROCK, Mich. – The largest crowd in several years jammed Flat Rock Speedway Saturday night for the Griller’s Select BBQ Sauce School Bus Figure 8 race.

Perfect weather greeted the sold-out crowd to witness not only the bus race, but a Boat Figure 8 and the track’s Figure 8 and Street Stock classes.

Rookie Corey Duane capped off a solid first year with a win in the 25 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock feature. The “progressive” show, which had no qualifying, is set up by a blind draw for heat races and finishes in those events sets the field for the feature race.

Duane, who had recorded several second runs this year, got to the Sun Drop Winner’s Circle in his No. 12, topping Tim Moore, Nick Shanks, Scott Selmi, Rob Moore, Guy Fire, Craig Lange, Jeff Luttermoser, Chris Diovardi and Pete Shrake. Marvin Krause, Kyle Worley, Tadek Stadniczuk, Gary Haener, Justin Rodriguez, Larry Smouthers, Clyde McKee and Tom Murphy completed the finishing order. Steve Chartrand and Dan Doyle were scratches for the main event. Rob Moore, Selmi and Fire won the heat races.

Jeremy Vanderhoof withstood the pressure of 2013 track champ Greg Studt and Danny Gaddis to win an exciting and crowd-pleasing 20 lap ARCA Parts Galore Figure 8 feature event. The field put on a show as they dodged each other lap after lap at the intersection. Jeremy stayed out front as Studt and Gaddis pushed the leader all the way to the checkered flag. Studt, Gaddis, Dennis Whisman, Scott Apperson, Race Loving, Randy Roberts, Ian Jezylo, Stephanie Bradley and John Lambert were next in line at the finish. Whisman took the heat race win. The progressive format was also in place for the Figure 8 class.

The wild Figure 8 boat race has become quite popular in just a short time. Race cars towing boats and trailers around the Figure 8 track is one thing – watching drivers attempt to take out the boat/trailers of their fellow competitors is just what the crowd wanted to see. Scott Apperson took the checkered flag over John Lambert, Jeff King, Race Loving and Bill Carberry. King, who lost his boat with two laps to go, wanted more fun as he plowed into a boat that was left on the track not once, but twice, much to the delight of the crowd.

And the grand finale’ School Bus Figure 8 race saw three buses roll on their sides. Action started very fast as Jeremy Vanderhoof got pushed over, emerging from his bus to the cheers of the crowd. Fan favorite and Flat Rock’s only female Figure 8 driver Stephanie Bradley was the next driver to roll her bus as the crowd roared for more! Danny Gaddis did not disappoint the fans as he also got over. Dennis Whisman took the credit for assisting 2 of his fellow drivers by crashing into them.

Through it all, Rob Moore, less a tire that dug up the asphalt, was declared the winner. Ray Gaddis and Robbie Loving also piloted buses. Bus sponsors were Suburban Oil of Taylor, The Bayou Grille of Belleville, Sportway Batting Cages/Karts/Golf of Brownstown and Westland, Hopculture, LLC, the Glass City 200 and Parts Galore of Flat Rock and Detroit

Previous articleScott Aumen Tops Salt City 200
Next articleMayhew Sweeps Up At Kern Co. is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.