Feger Masters Peoria Dirt


PEORIA, Ill. – Jason Feger won round right of the Budweiser UMP Super Late Model Series at Peoria Speedway Thursday night, passing pole sitter Brian Shirley in traffic for the win and $2,000.

Shirley set fast time among the 21 UMP Late Models on hand, won his heat and the dash, and was trying to complete the sweep as he jumped to the lead at the start of the 30 lap feature. Jason Feger jumped into 2nd and followed Shirely over the first nine laps as the two ran all over the Peoria high banks.

On a lightning fast racing surface, Shirley only needed eight laps to get into lapped traffic. Shirley had been running the high groove exclusively, and had to drop to the middle of the track to get by lapped traffic on lap nine. Feger pounced on the opportunity, driving under Shirley coming out of turn four for the lead.

Feger extended his lead and was never seriously challenged the rest of the race with Shirley finishing 2nd. Ryan Unzicker, Bobby Pierce and Tim Lance rounded out the top five.

“Sometimes its better to be in second,” Feger told the crowd of his pass for the lead. “When I was following Brian I had the chance to go to the middle and the bottom a little so I knew what I had. When he had to drop down to pass that lapped car, I knew that was my chance so I took it.”

The UMP Modified race may have been the race of the year so far as NASCAR driver Kenny Wallace survived a major league, toe-to-toe slugfest with Erik Bruce and Donovan Lodge. It took 3 tries to get the race started, forcing a single file start.

Scott May led the first lap before another caution bunched up the field. Wallace ran the high side exclusively, and drove past May for the lead in turn four on lap. Bruce,in a brand new car, drove past May and set sail for Wallace until another caution flew on lap six.

Bruce led lap seven and Wallace charged back by on lap eight. The final caution was thrown on lap eight, with Bruce and Wallace swapping the lead each lap until Wallace started to run away from Bruce on lap 13. Lodge shuffled past a fading Bruce on lap 14 and immediately challenged Wallace.

Wallace was living on the edge on the top of the track, and Lodge could nudge ahead on both corners on the bottom. The duo swapped the lead five times until the white flag flew, and both went to their respective lines. Wallace won he drag race to he checkered flag, followed by Lodge, Bruce, Billy Tuckwell and Mike Chasteen, Jr.

“Man, that was one hell of a race,” an excited Wallace said in victory lane. “The 32 drove me hard, we beat the crap out of each other but never spun each other out. I kept thinking of how Kenny Schrader beat me on the high side earlier this year, so I just stayed there. That was a lot of fun. The fans had to love that one.”

Rob Bauman Sr. picked up his first win ever at the track over an 18 car field, surviving 5 caution flags and led all 15 laps. Kenny Egan, Brian Crebo, Jim Carmody and Steve Shannon rounded out the top five.

“This has been a long time coming, t feels so good to finally get a win here”, Bauman said. “A big thanks to my son and Kevin Weaver for helping me with this car.. The car was great, and I appreciate all that Kevin has done for Junior.”

Jeremy Kingsley went the distance in the UMP Hornets, surviving a lap three caution and an excellent field of UMP Hornets for the win. Tyler Benson, Kenny Butterfield, Zac Bollinger and Brent Terry were the top five.

“I’m glad I was up front because I realized after the re-start I had lost my brakes”, Kingsley said. “We had a good field of cars with all these guys chasing UMP points.”