Eventful Night Of Racing At Plymouth


PLYMOUTH, Ind. – It was a night to honor a pioneer in racing, and the four features that ran at the Playground of Power Saturday night made the Bob Newton Classic a night to remember.

The Dickies Restaurant 600 Sprints found Billy Cribbs the early leader. Garrett Saunders had slipped back slightly in the pack at the start of the race but began working his way to the front. By lap 11, Saunders worked from sixth to the third position. He was attempting to pass Brad Nichols for the second position but ran out of laps. Pole-sitter and points leader Billy Cribbs won the feature with Brad Nichols in the second spot and Garrett Saunders rounding out the top three.

“It’s been a good season,” said Cribbs. “We were kind of behind in the beginning of the season and then got into a groove where we were consistent.”

The Sprints on Dirt Series packed power in their feature Saturday night. However, heavy-hitters Dustin Daggett and Gregg Dalman started on the front row and showed great speed in the beginning of the race. Dalman continued to lead but a caution on lap 18 bunched up the field and allowed Ryan Ruhl to get a run on the leading Dalman and went on to win the race. Dalman came in second while May winner Randy Hannagan was third.

“I’ve been racing Daggett pretty hard this season and his bad luck was my gain,” said Ruhl. “I had a great run on Dalman there at the end and I got the win. I had a great time racing here tonight.”

The Swan Lake Resorts UMP Modifieds had a new driver on top of the podium. Michael Thayer started on the pole and was able to hold off the field for his first win of the season. Meanwhile, Frank Marshall was moving through the field despite a damaged race car.  The podium found Michael Thayer on the top spot with Dylan Woodling second and Frank Marshall third.

“I feel awesome,” said Thayer. “It’s great to be back at Plymouth Speedway and thank you to all of the fans for being here on this special night.”

The Super Streets were on the schedule as the last feature of the night where Michael Clark dominated the field. Calvin Peek, Jr. had the early lead and was pulling away from the field when he made a mistake coming out of turn three and traveled through the inner track. He re-entered the field in the fifth position. Clark then assumed the lead with Peek Jr. quickly setting his sights back to the front. Michael Clark continued in his winning ways with Calvin Peek, Jr. in second and Kory Conner in third.

Previous articleGardner Sprints To Perris Glory
Next articleReinke Ends Two Year IRA Sprint Drought
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.